The Afterchill Day Boat Trip in Koh ChangsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography4 years ago

It hasn't been this long without a post for a long time, but it's been quite busy in the post office now that it's the Christmas season. It didn't help that Posti was on a strike for three weeks (luckily I was in Thailand during that) which accumulated loads of stuff at the sorting center. But the amount of Christmas cards and the fiddling that is required to sort them – oh my gosh! I can safely say that I have lost attraction towards Christmas cards, and I will probably develop PTSD towards them. Most annoying thing though is that a lot of the cards come with slightly (or very much) inadequate address information, so that you have to do the work to find the correct match with name and address because for some reason people just don't know their friends' exact addresses where they are sending Christmas cards. Sometimes the numbers make zero sense to be a typo or a misheard, which often makes me wonder if they are on purpose not trying to get their cards to the recipients.

Loads of stuff going on, 6 days of work last week, long days. And the little time outside of that: a lot of engagement in the physical life's relationships which has pulled my attention from Steem, and I honestly haven't read a lot of posts lately. Oh, did I forget to mention that I'm supposed to study some basics of anatomy for the massage education? Yeah, that can wait for the holidays – only few days of work before I can lay down my orange Posti t-shirt.

Anyhow, I've managed to do some editing here and there about the Thailand trip. So, this series will be about a boat trip in Koh Chang where bunch of steemians went for an afterchill. Big thanks to the 3speak team, @starkerz and @theycallmedan, who made this happen!

Sort:  

I feel you! I've worked two Christmases at the post office, I hate Christmas cards too! xD... Welcome back!

Haha, you know the pain! Hopefully it'll be the first and last Christmas there :P

Christmas cards! They're the ones people send to their relatives they haven't talked to all year, just to say Merry X-mas, right? From your description it sounds more like kids addressing letters to Santa! By the way, you may know that in American Christmas lore Santa Claus lives on the North Pole, but for British kids he lives in ... that's right, somewhere in Finland! Could that maybe explain the crazy address issues you've had to deal with?

but for British kids he lives in ... that's right, somewhere in Finland!

I know, he lives in Rovaniemi to be precise. There's a hot line to Santa in the Christmas eve where kids can call him.

Could that maybe explain the crazy address issues you've had to deal with?

I think people are just lazy, lol.

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.489 which ranks you at #2182 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 88 contributions, your post is ranked at #28.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Sawadee Khrup @celestal... Awesome pics from the land of smiles m8.

I feel your pain with the postal sorting office blues. I worked three Christmas holidays as a temp sorting the mail. The second year I was on the letter section where all the Christmas cards were sorted and by the end of the two month contract I had memorized every postcode in the UK and was having dreams (more like nightmares) about sorting those letters into the little postcode marked slots. I got so quick at it by the end I was throwing the letters into the slots with only a very occasional mistake.

I found that I was much faster, and the time went easier, if I listened to music through headphones. Are you allowed to listen to your headphones?

All the best, and happy Christmas :)

I'm starting to remember stuff by memory too, makes me frightened to realize how long I've actually been there.

I found that I was much faster, and the time went easier, if I listened to music through headphones. Are you allowed to listen to your headphones?

We are, but I prefer to just blabber some bullshit out of my mouth, lol.

but I prefer to just blabber some bullshit out of my mouth, lol.

Ha ha, well... 'a good old chin wag' (conversation) as we call it in the UK is just as good for passing the time :)

Beautiful pics and atmosphere! :)

Thanks @rrusina! Atmosphere is off the charts with other Steemians :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29