Original Flower Photography No. 7steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

✿ Balloon Flowers ✿

Scientific Name: Platycodon grandiflorus

It is Native to East Asia and is also called Chinese Bell Flower, however they can be cultivated in US zone 3-8. Making it a pretty hardy plant!!

ccoupls.JPG

Genus name comes from the Greek words: platys meaning broad & kodon meaning a bell, for the shape of the corolla.

KMG_0399.JPG

As you can see, it gets its common name because it kind of looks like a Balloon before it bursts into an elegant flower <3

pop.JPG

It is said that the blossoms where attributed to the reuniting of friends, and is commonly exchanged among friends not only for this symbolism but because they are bright unique colorful flowers that will make anyone happy to receive.

KMG_0732 (2).JPG

I have this pretty flower just off the porch before the woods, it reaches over 2 feet in height, which is common for this flower so it is best put in the back of the flower bed as to not take away precious light from other flowers. Its not considered invasive, in fact I encourage its flowers as much as possible in the garden .

I really hope you enjoy this post, all photos are mine with content from my own research and experiences. <3

More Original Flower Photography:

✿Sunflowers✿
✿Black Eyed Susan✿
✿Echium✿
✿Oxeye Daisy ✿
✿Apple Blossom Yarrow✿
✿ Bachelor Buttons ✿

Sort:  

Nice blossoms :) There is such a big variety of flora, how do you know all of them?

thanks Bescouted :) I grew up spending alot of time with my nan and she grew a wide variety of flowers, Cains dad also grows a wide variety of flowers and we spend alot of time with him too. I grow my own as well, and also collect flower and organic gardening books, especially really old ones, I have a couple from the 1800's!! <3 I certainly don't know all of them lol But the ones I photograph I have become acquainted with :)

Also, the internet is super helpfull, you don't have to have a background in flowers or plants to easily learn about them. Theres a facebook group called plant identification where you can submit a photo and people will help identify it, not to mention the web in generall and youtube! I've turned to youtube so many times for my succulents, they are a little different than the regular flowers i'm used to. Anyone can learn it if they are motivated to <3

So i can tell from your knowledge that you are involved pretty much :) Thank you for sharing the knowledge :)

@cainplant I'd like to see your posts get more traffic. Are you a member of the #minnowsupportproject?

thanks overkillcoin =) I'm not, I should look into that

I think it's been helpful for me, it's important to get a network built up, and minnowsupport's aim is to help with that. I don't usually get huge upvotes, but a lot of posts now have a good amount of votes.

Very nice flowers

Very stunning capture. Beautiful flower. And the lighting is great!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63588.38
ETH 2595.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81