Awe

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I witnessed my very first total solar eclipse back in August from near Hopkinsville, Kentucky. I had a rough idea on what to expect when totality began, but I severely underestimated the entire experience. I will never forget the eerie dimness that seemed to envelop the entire world in the minutes before totality began. All of a sudden, as if a big wave was washing over me, the sky went dark. I took off my solar glasses and stared up at the most unbelievable sight that I had ever seen. The sun had vanished, and in it's place was a blackness surrounded by wispy strands of pure energy streaming out into the vastness of space. I was totally mesmerized by what I was seeing. I snapped back to reality briefly so I could snap a picture of the eclipse, and then I found myself frozen in awe once more as I looked back up into the sky. A person really does feel puny when faced with an event like that. Things like a total solar eclipse are too amazing to exist in real life, but they do. It is as close to real magic as anything can get. A life changing experience. If you are ever able to have the chance to witness a total solar eclipse from inside the path of totality, please do yourself a favor and see it. Our planet is only so big, and there isn't a distance that exists that is too far to travel in order to be in totality. The trip and traffic are absolutely worth every second of totality. #photofeed
Fullscreen capture 8222017 54602 PM.bmp.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63549.78
ETH 3107.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88