Sunset Sundays

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

#SunsetSundays

In an attempt to get back to blogging every day I came up with a couple of "themes" for each day. This doesn't prevent me from posting the random crap that I do as well... but on days that I literally have nothing to say, at least I would have my topic to create some inspiration.

Other days' topics

  1. #MeatyMondays last post - I'll show you mine if you show me yours.
  2. #WysJouVleis last post (Wednesdays) - Reviving a comp I used to run on twitter a few years back.
    *P.S.: I missed this week's... sorry! The post is in draft, but I went for a "quick braai" at a friend's house on Tuesday and only got home 2 days later. Which reminds me: If you entered, then I'll be announcing a winner this coming Wednesday :P
  3. Thursdays are for releasing new BraaiBoyTV episodes.
  4. Coming "soon" = #TuneTuesdays (if @fates will let me jump on her hashtag) ;-) - I'm working on a sponsor that will make it possible to live stream a chat, braai and unplugged jam session with some of SA's local talent. I've been wanting to do this one for about 2 years now... and finally got my ass into gear and started approaching potential partners... NEARLY THERE! WatchThisSpace

The other days don't have any specific topics/themes yet... but I'll get there... "promise" ;-)

OK... So... #SunsetSundays then?

Yeah.. sorry been rambling a bit. But I'm hoping that if I write it down and publish it, then I'll feel somewhat more responsible for going through with it.

So #SunsetSundays is pretty wide open... I would like to take the time to reflect and look back at the week that was... but very often I'm working on a Sunday... so it could literally just be a "Hello there... here I am, having a jol doing XYZ... looking forward to Monday (because I normally take Mondays off as my day to recoup from the weekend)."

#SunsetSundays episode 1


"California Wildfires"

I came across this pic shared on facebook with the caption "Clouds above the California wildfires. This is at 30k feet. That's the sunset on the horizon." . I LOVED IT... and immediately felt bad for the devastation.

It reminded me that I wanted to start a #SunsetSundays series, and this was going to be the perfect "Tragically Beautiful" start to the series.

I was gonna just repost it and cite it as "artist unkown", but thought such an epic pic must surely be famous and/or shared in mainstream news crediting the original photographer.. especially since it's covering such a current and hot topic (no pun intended... promise).

30 seconds of googling later, and I found this: https://www.snopes.com/fact-check/clouds-over-california-wildfires/
i.e. Turns out while it IS a legit pic, just not of the California Wildfires, and is a lucky shot being in the right place at the right time.

It also reminded me how easy it is to spread bullshit on the Internet/Social Media... PLEASE FOLKS!!! CHECK YOUR SOURCES BEFORE SHARING.


UpVotes & ReSteems are held in high (e)steem :P

If this post is older than 7 days please support by upvoting my latest post

vote latest post view latest post

All my @dtube videos here:

Play Dice for free and win SBD and @SteemBasicIncome shares:

https://steemit.com/@playdice

Connect with me on Social:

Steemit: https://steemit.com/@braaiboy
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BraaiBoy
Twitter: https://twitter.com/BraaiBoy
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/BraaiBoy

View Printable Recipes on my website:

http://braaiboy.co.za/braai-recipes/


BraaiBoy TeamSouthAfrica Footer.png
footer by @bearone for #TeamSouthAfrica

Steemit Bloggers
animation by @zord189 for #SteemitBloggers

Sort:  

@braaiboy yeah I saw that pic floating around. It is quite something!!!!

I think I must have tried a thousand routines, series and contests here on Steemit since I joined hehe and it took me quite some time before I found the things that really "spoke" to me.... because I discovered (duh!) that no matter how enthusiastic I was when starting a series, if it was not something that I was passionate about, it eventually became a "task" rather than a pleasure.

So whilst I don't do specific things on specific days, I have a little "collection" of regulars which I love doing and so will do whichever one, two or more on any particular day which works really well for my Gemini soul haha!

No surprises that they revolve around: Music, Food, Life Experiences, Positive Living and my @steemitbloggers community... oh, and Wine! haha! Cheers to that!

Happy Sunday :)

hahahaha!

TRUE STORY @Jaynie!

While I haven't been around on Steemit for long, I have been on other blogging/social platforms for a while... and couldn't agree with you more!

if it was not something that I was passionate about, it eventually became a "task" rather than a pleasure.

My whole life is literally guided by one simple principle: "If it's not fun, don't do it". I retired from the "do work because it pays the bills" life many many moons ago, and have no intention of going back.

Which is why you'll notice my themes revolve around: Braai, Music & Beer (normally a combination of all 3 actually) :P

The #SunsetSundays thing may or may not survive... we'll see. Despite my apparently very superficial life, I really do enjoy reflecting/ranting/giving unsolicited advice ... and that's where that one fits in.

Having said that: No matter how much fun it is blogging about it... it's always more fun DOING it... and that doesn't always leave time for writing about it after.

Well... Hey... there's one way to find out, right?

Ha! Absolutely!!! And quite frankly... if you consider YOUR life "apparently superficial" then SHIT SON, there are a LOT of people out there with some REALLY big depth issues ;)

I could not agree with you more!!!!!!!!

SO many people have questioned my move at the beginning of this year to "pleb it" and blog instead of the staying in the "supposedly powerful position" I had. KRIKEY, I just don't think they had even a CLUE of the desperation I felt to get the fnck out of that "life" and to just do something that makes me HAPPY!!!!! Even if it has less money! It is just simpler and a lot more REAL!

Played that game for 17 years... I am DONE!

NONE of the money was worth the stress I lived for SO SO SOOOOOOO many years! As I am sure you are MORE than familiar with.... the design and print industry is NOT for sissies. lol and OWNING it, made it THAT much harder....

I am somewhat GLEAMING from ear to ear just saying this to you, because I know I NEVER, ever ever ever everrrrrrrrrrr have to deal with it again!!! YAY to Sunset Sundays!!!!!

;)

Excellent lesson about sourcing and an amazing photo!

Indeed... it frustrates the living shit out of me when (apparently) smart friends share complete BS (no doubt sensationalised) "news" on Facebook... I've actually just given up... it's patently clear these stories are fake, but that doesn't stop them... I don't even take the 30 seconds to google it for them anymore. :P

Having said that: I would have totally just shared the pic in question as well had I not wanted to share it here on Steemit first and needed to have the original photographer's deets for crediting purposes.

So... I guess it's a reminder to everyone (including myself) to not always take everything we see on social at face value and/or accept it as fact.

Actually annoying how people steal pictures for one minute of 'fame' on the internet, very few actually check how original the claim is @braaiboy good to let people know, help stop misuse.

Will keep an eye open for your daily fun, all depends on my connection behaving!

Yeah... that's a tricky one. I put a lot of content out on the Internet, and most of the time I do so for the very intention that I hope people WILL "borrow" it and share it. Fair enough... it's often got my face and/or brand in it... but even when it doesn't... as long as people don't claim it's their own, I'm cool with it. Yes, it would be awesome if people credited/linked to me, but I pretty much don't "expect the Internet to work like that".

Most of my photographer mates obviously don't feel the same: They make money by taking (and selling) pics... so I can appreciate their argument. My advice to them...
a) Watermark it so that it CAN'T be used for commercial purposes, and be happy when someone shares it... Free marketing.
b) Don't put it on the Internet if you don't want others to "borrow" it.

It's a whole new kettle of fish though when someone borrows a picture and adds a whole new random/fake backstory to it. THAT is just not cool... but the part that annoys me is that sheeple merrily share awayand spread the fake story. Can they not think???

Anyway... my coffee mug is currently half-full, so I'm gonna finish it and make myself another :P

It is a hard one to call, personally I have tried to only use my own photography over the past 10 years online, never wanting to create a problem of not giving credit, where credit is due.

Over the past 10 years I have had one place ask to use my photography, I was more than happy to since it supported an area I frequent, it was a pleasure to know the work would be used elsewhere to further advertise the region.

Recently I have stopped adding my name to photography, if people are going to take it, they will do it without permission!

Hopefully blockchain technology will introduce a great way of tracking original photography, music, art to protect creators.

This reminded of the military coup attempt in Turkey in 2016. There were a lot of violent pictures floating around in the media with provocative and manipulative titles. Most of those pictures turned out to be from completely irrelevant places on earth, taking a few years ago.

Anyway, I am keen to join if there is a contest :)

Re the "fake news": Yeah... it's a tricky one... especially when the "news" offends. Our immediate reaction is to share it with everyone else so that hopefully we won't be outraged on our own. We humans are a special bunch indeed :-)

Re the contests: For Sure! (Holding thumbs) It'll be a regular thing every Monday and Wednesday. :-)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by 🔥🔥🔥BraaiBoy🔥🔥🔥 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @braaiboy! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 18.56% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Source
When you copy/paste or repeatedly type the same comments you could be mistaken for a bot.

More information:
The Art of Commenting
Comment Classifications

Comment spam for the purpose of vote farming is not cool!

cc @steemflagrewards @steemcleaners

Steem Flag Rewards mention comment has been approved! Thank you for reporting this abuse, @braaiboy categorized as comment spam. This post was submitted via our Discord Community channel. Check us out on the following link!
SFR Discord

Follow on flag for comment spam. @steemflagrewards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27