Photos From A Shoot I Did During the Night! Lighting set-up and make-up explained + a fan!

in #photography5 years ago

It's amazing what a fan can do when blowing directly on your hair! I took these earlier, using the self-timer on my Canon Powershot SX730 HS.

IMG_1134.JPG

I was recording for a video parody (yeah, I know, doesn't look like it's for a parody of all things), where I'm singing about the Old Gods from Dragon Age, hence the black lipstick (which is actually face paint I put on my lips). I purposefully made each eye the colour of the hair on that side, as part of the smokey eye.

IMG_1118.JPG

I like that in this lighting you can actually see the violet that's under the blue and the green. I had my 500W light shining on the background, a spotlight shining on the other side of the wall, and a lamp lit and angled to be shining on me. It turned out pretty well. The filming was fun, but the "photo shoot" was funner. I literally feel like a super model. And there I was thinking I'd only use the fan to dissipate the smell of varnish when working on my DIY crafts with acrylics. What do you know. It's a multi-purpose fan.

IMG_1131.JPG

When I edit my video, I'm going to be using the Chroma Keyer. I made some tests earlier with images I took. My hair was tied, so hopefully, I won't lose too many flying strands when I chroma key the background away to reveal the gameplay footage I'm going to be putting behind me. Given the colour of my hair, unless I've got a tight close-up with hair tied to look darker than it is, using my green wall as a green screen becomes difficult. With the white wall, I can deselect the colour node in the chroma keyer filter and only use the two others, which are for the black and whites and for the lighting.

IMG_1122.JPG

I reckon this will make things very easy in Photoshop too, having the white wall as my background. I'm not too lit, so when I go into my Channels tab to do my thing there separate me from the background in the Alpha channel, it will be very easy to play around with the Levels to ensure I'm much darker than the background. It's a process that takes time when contours are not well defined between the subject and the background.

IMG_1119.JPG

My skin came out fairly smooth too. I know I layered on the foundation a bit thicker than usual, but I really nailed it this time. Lighting, make-up. The video frame is a bit tighter, the pictures just came out wider. I can always readjust that. What you see today are the raw files.

IMG_1117.JPG

I'm getting good at this, if I do say so myself. /Pats herself on the back.

IMG_1124.JPG

And yes I'm sharing a ton of these pictures, and yes I'm feeling proud of my handy work. Heck, I feel sexy!

IMG_1128.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94