You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Exploring Fantastic Caverns in Springfield, MO pt. 2

in #photography6 years ago

So dark and scary it must have been for those WOMEN!?! Ahhh I love geology so much in all its splendor.. rocks are sweet.

I am baffled they had concerts in there... how big was this cave?! And no one was worried about anything falling from all the sound?! Would be a super cool bar tho.

Sort:  

I can certainly imagine that it was quite the swinging joint back in it's heyday as a speakeasy.

And yes, those were certainly some very adventurous women to take on that challenge, most of them were actually only teenagers!

And around the time of the civil war? Can only imagine the stir that caused.. having 12 women go cave hunting. Or if it did at all, I don't know.

It definitely caused quite the hub-bub...there were several articles about it in newspapers if I remember correctly while reading about it.

Yeah, I mean, I don't know how I would feel at the time letting my lady do some crazy exploring such as this.. but hey, only live once!

Makes me wonder how much of that "hollow Earth" theory is true...

I tend to think not completely hollow but massive pockets of void in the rocks below. Sinkholes fascinate the hell out of me, because its like an uncharted cave complex potentially opening up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58927.54
ETH 2514.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48