Bountiful Spring Rains Progresses Growth

in #photography5 years ago

We have had a plentitude of rain here in the last month and steady warm temperatures have been a blessing for the plants trying to sprout forth.

It also has been a very cooperative early season for our perennials as well. As they continually grow into larger plants our harvest will continually increase. With care of course.

So far this season, I eagerly await fresh strawberries and blueberries to mature first for picking. Green peas will be a not-so-close third place I suspect.

image
Blueberry flowers are as unique as they come. Lots of clusters promise a decent haul.. not much to sustain though, for this is just a second year row of plants. I’ll expect more and more each season.

image

Very neat bell shape. Glad no dear or critters destroyed them..

image

The scorpion pepper Overwintered transplant is enjoying the moist soil and the much more open space. This plant has quite a trunk for a stem.

image

With more flowers already blooming! And those peppers are certainly hot.

image

Was unsure at first but now I’m certain. This grape vine I planted last year is pumping out new growth. Will need to do a better job at pruning this vining plant for optimum growth. Not sure if I’ll witness fruit this year..

image

The funny thing about these strawberries.. I had such a tough time last year keeping the critters away from them. As they would constantly snatch my fresh red juicy berries for their own delight.. hardly ever consuming a whole berry before tossing it curbside.

Well, as I do sometimes I did a little research on the purpose of chipmunk in the ecosystem and turns out they’re important seed spreaders...

image

Thus why I see domestic strawberry plants in places I had certainly not planted strawberries.

I can envision them dropping the seeds out as they travel away from the hotspot, as I give em a hoot an holler they crap themselves.

image

I’m not mad about the strawberries being everywhere.. maybe it’ll keep them away from the bed of cluster of strawberries. Distractions..

image

Finally seeing some of the second generation corn come up from the kernels I saved from last years harvested corn. Nice to know they worked! Hope I planted enough but spaced enough to beat the pests.

image

Green house sprouts still growing.. I’m finding things growing slower in the greenhouse.. perhaps it gets too hot during the day already. Full sun can shoot the temp to 100 real fast inside the greenhouse.

image

Tomatoes and finally some different peppers are sprouting. Scorpion, poinsettia, habanero and poblano are making appearances to the show in record slow time it felt like. But here they are.

image

Lettuce I will either decide to transplant or something.. give to friends.. who knows. Growing fine.

image

The onions and Shallots steadily growing. Almost all it appears, have made it to the party.

image

Spent some time staking and zip tying the steel cages I had from last year to form a barrier trellis for the pole, Lima, and bronco beans. Not sure how effective it’ll be.. time will be the test.

Lots of potatoes and carrots and lettuces and green peas, chards, broccolis, kales, spinaches.. all sprouting and growing decently speedily towards maturity.

image

The beans had a near 100 percent success rate for germination. Just poked finger holes and dropped them in and covered with “power dirt”. Here we are two weeks later about.

image

Spent a lot of time weeding today and cleaning out unwanted leeches of plants. The hugel mound had become covered with grasses, perhaps my foolish karma for placing grass on top the mound last year.

The mound is a hit, a second year now. As it is booming with life. This time however, it’s not from the coming spaghetti squash plants, no. More contemporary plants that remain relatively stationary.

Garlic gifted to me by @funnyfarm77 has grown to such large plants, for not ever seeing a live garlic plant, I’m amazed at their height! Very neat to look at and not very space consuming. But I have them strategically placed on the backside of the mound where the walking garden destroyers come thru the thicket. Hopefully the strong smell wards them away...

I am grateful for the opportunity I am given to be able to grow all these foods. I pray to Heavenly Father.

image

James is a real outdoorsman already. Kid loves it outside at one month already. We are so blessed.

Take care y’all!

Photos shot with my smartphone aside from James.

Sort:  

Wow looking great so far. I had to laugh looked at our forecast for tonight and we are supposed to get a blizzard tonight. About 5 inches of snow tonight.. Then I turn on Steem and the first thing I see is your post. James seems to be having fun in the garden in a few years you will have another helper.

THere is a coming cold blast this evening for us. A frost warning has been placed... I have set out the plastics for protection, I hope my tender peppers can survive the night.

I thought we'd seen the last threat but here we are nearly in May with Winter still fighting.. like last year.

We got 3 inches of snow last night. Then 38 for a high today.

Posted using Partiko iOS

That IS a tree trunk of a pepper plant! Amazing. I hope they produce a bunch for ya.

Blueberries are so so good, freezing them makes such a sweet summertime snack.

This baby made me gawk outloud, he looks so blissful and like such a happy outdoor lover. Thanks for the cuteness overload.

He gets me too, every time. I am blessed to have him with us.

I am very excited for the blue berries, last year we only harvested a dozen or so hahaha not even worth a mention. But this year perhaps a small cups worth coming haha

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @biffybirdcam!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.300 which ranks you at #7894 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 246 places in the last three days (old rank 8140).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 230 contributions, your post is ranked at #158.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62581.77
ETH 2546.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75