Backyard Astrophotography 4

in #photography7 years ago

Alrighty , let's see if I can finally get another post on here , after being under the weather for a while now (the sick kind not the intoxicated kind haha) and after playing lumberjack for a few days (man that is tough / tiring).

Anyway , finally had a clear night a few nights ago. A nice break from all the cloudy nights and days of not so good weather that seemed to be never ending.



First I set up everything as per usual , but this time i thought I would try to set up my mount using Drift Alignment , which i had never tried before. Usually I just use the polar scope and hope for the best. The method I tried was sort of a combination of the following pages :

One Star Declination Drift Method for the Southern Hemisphere

and

Drift Alignment by Robert Vice.

It didn't really work out too well for me that night , so I must have done something not exactly right anyway :) . And before that I had tried the built in Polar Alignment tool on the handheld controller with my telescope mount , but for some reason I can never get that one to work properly and always end up worse than when i started it. So in the end i just went back to align with the polar scope and took the following images :



Carina.JPG


Ahh one of my favorites , The Carina Nebula (C 92). Finally got a shot of this one with my Orion 120mm refractor with a 600mm Focal Length. Exposure 287.1s ISO 400.



Omega Centauri.JPG


Omega Centauri (C 80). This is a massive Globular Cluster that can be found to the Northwest of the Southern Cross. Again , finally got an image of this with the Orion 120mm. Exposure 73s , ISO 400. I had mentioned this one in one of my previous Backyard Astrophotography posts , but hadn't posted an image. I had taken one a long time ago with my 250mm reflector , but i couldn't find where i had stored it.



S Pleadies.JPG


The Southern Pleiades (C 102). An Open Cluster found to the South of the Carina Nebula. An image of this cluster taken with my 250mm refractor can be found in my Backyard Astrophotography 3 post. I honestly think I like the way stars look taken with a reflector more so than with a refractor.



Open Cluster.JPG


An Open Cluster in the Southern skies. Exposure 105.5s ISO 400. I can't seem to identify this one. At first I thought it was either the Pearl Cluster or the Jewel Box , but no. It will be one of the clusters in that area , of which there are many. I think this was after I put in the wrong C number in the hand controller when looking for Omega Centauri.



Pearl Cluster.JPG


This is the Pearl Cluster (C 97) . Found in between the Southern Cross and the Carina Nebula. Exposure 76.6s ISO 400. Just to the left of the cluster a bit you can just start to see a nebulous area by those two stars , which is part of the Running Chicken Nebula( sometimes called the Centauri Nebula).



My other Backyard Astrophotography posts can be found here :

Backyard Astrophotography

Backyard Astrophotography 2

Backyard Astrophotography 3

Sort:  

Hell yes. Please keep these up, im following you now.

Hey logicwins , thanks for stopping by and checking out the post. Glad you liked it. And yeah , I'll try to post astro images whenever i can. This is definitely my favorite type of photography.

I met a guy that makes art doing these types of shots with a telescope and laptop while I was out shooting the Milky Way. He had some amazingly detailed captures, looked like an expensive setup though. Nice work!

Hey azfix , thanks for the comment :) . And yeah i know what you mean , there are people out there that do awesome work with their astro photos , hopefully with a lot of practice I'll get to that level. Anyway , I've heard other people say it can get real expensive real quick , and I tend to agree. Even normal photography , some of the lenses out there are just ...whoa ... astronomical ... (no pun intended haha) and i guess with astrophotography , even more so , more toys ... emm i mean equipment ... to buy.

excellent post :-)

Cool , thank you.

Excellent post! I like your work My friend

Hey , thanks mars9. Thanks for stopping by and checking it out.

have to go through that tomorrow° But great @betelzeus!

Thank you holgermarkgraf :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71