My first attempt at street-photography, product placement and some B&W gems. All this from my 35mm SLR.

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Until my lotto numbers come in I will continue using my old SLR's. Nevertheless, the old girls perform well enough and my interest in photography is unstoppable, regardless of the development stebacks. Being part of steemit is a great inspiration and it is solely down to certain members as to why I've snapped the photos displayed in this post.

So here are a few pics from my latest rolls of film and I hope you all enjoy the views. All these pictures were taken using ISO 200 35mm film.

A bit of street photography

This was my first try at photographing random folk in public places and I have to say it was quite enjoyable. It felt slightly mischeivious and opertunistic, secretly snapping away while hiding in plain sight of my subjects. Even when I did get noticed I didn't flinch, it was actually very exciting and I would recommend that you have a go.

Photo38_35.jpg

Photo36_33.jpg

Product placement

I know that I need to pactice with enhancing the lighting but even with the obvious faults I do like the way these photos have turned out. The colours haven't come out as vibrantly as I would have wanted them to but I'm still learning so I won't be beating myself up about it. If you have any tips for me, then please feel free to offer them up in the comments section.

Photo22_19.jpg

duval pour.jpg

Black & White

There is certainly something about B&W film photography that I adore. Maybe it's the nostalgic feeling it gives the finished product or maybe it's just the fact that it tends to cover up the errors a little better than colour film does, either way I'll certainly be buying some more rolls.

CNV00001.JPG

CNV00008 (2).JPG

CNV00026.JPG

CNV00029.JPG

Hope you enjoyed the show and please come join in with my other projects that are listed below.

Screenshot_2018-12-14 Steemit.png

Screenshot_2018-12-14 Steemit(1).png

bannerart.jpg

Sort:  

hi @article61,
what light-metering do you use? I think all the photos could take a bit more exposure (+1/2 or +1). Contrast and brilliance would go up...
If you need some hep with shooting on film just drop me a line.

Hi there and thanks for the input :) My main problem is not having an independent light meter, just the one within the camera itself. I'm dubious to how well it work and as soon as it's possible I will be buying one or obtaining a phone that is modern enough to enable an app(My current phone is very old). I'm reading a book about film photography at the moment and some of the tips are very good. Great to know I now have a steemian offering advice too, thanks very much and I'm sure I'll be in touch. What film should I use to get better results or is that not something I should be concentrating on while learning the ropes? At present I am just using the cheapest Kodak brand from my local photo shop.

Using the in-camera light meter is fine; yours just needs an adjustment of the exposure. You can do this by setting the camera's lightmeter to a lower filmspeed than is actually loaded. e.g. you load a 100 asa film, set your camera to 50 asa.
Your pictures - to me - looked a bit under exposed. on negativ film this leads to low contrasts, a lack of vibrance. Slight over exposure almost never is a problem, used to the extrem (+2, +3) it can give nice contrasty effects.
The settings I suggest for your camera will give a +1 correction, always a bit on the overexposed side, should give nicer results, no matter which film.
Try out different films, cheap, expensive, whatever, and continue using those you like.
Take time to take the picture ;)

Thanks again buddy, I'll certainly be trying those tips out. I'm getting a few rolls of iso-100 in my Christmas stocking and soon as I get the pictures developed I'll sort out a steemit post. Merry Christmas mate and hope you have a good new year too.

Thanks & Enjoy!

Hello @article61, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Nice one! Very good of you to stop by and always a pleasure to add to the block :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17