Succulents & Crystals~ My Garden

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

471BB4FE-E609-429B-BCF2-0DB5B088A2ED.jpeg
When I had my front lawn xeriscaped I never expected my collection of succulents to take off as they did. I constantly find myself pruning, digging out, replanting and gifting plants.
Living in So Cal we have water restrictions which include fines and this is a fire prone zone, so the city recommended we save water and get a tax break if we removed our lawns and grew plants with low water tolerance. So that we did.
In the beginning I was sure I would miss the lushness of water craving plants, so those were kept in the backyard.
291CCB7E-C87B-4AD8-ACC1-ABD312FB866A.jpeg
But I was super pleasantly surprised when the succulents I had planted and chosen began to bloom, expand and bring life to the front yard!
I find myself quite often rooting cutoffs into containers to gift!
A99E1996-A14B-48F9-B866-C8B3BCD5B315.jpeg
I like to place crystals on the leaves of my plants, I feel it adds a touch of “jewelry” to my garden as well as a sort of protection. Amazingly, no one has ever walked away with any of the crystals!
0C715ED7-08E6-4D2C-9ACC-1B1F29F15D84.jpeg
For someone who did not like succulents before I am now enthralled by their unique beauty!

How does your garden grow?
C9161F20-CB85-4586-BD66-CB33C97E8631.jpeg

Sort:  

Wow, your garden is beautiful! I wish I had one. The idea of changing the plants is good. So, people still can enjoy a green garden despite the water problem.

We will soon find out as its about to begin lol Is that your garden in the 1st picture :)

Hugs friend!Yes it is 💜

That is a beautiful garden, love it :)

Love the skull, raccoon? How lovely your garden and succulents grow, the crystals are a nice touch. Hugs your way & Happy Valentine’s Day to you❤️🐓

Hugs friend! I was hoping you would know what kind of skull it was, not sure if it’s a raccoon or coyote? 💜

It really helps that you are in the best place in CA to have the succulents. I would have my yard filled with them if the climate allowed. They are beyond easy to care for and create amazingly beautiful displays.

Most people aren't attuned to crystals. I have a small collection but my parents have a huge collection of a wide array of various crystals and minerals. They bought a 150lb smoky quartz from Brazil that is called "mother".

Your parents sound like my kind of people LOL! To own a Crystal like that is impressive!
Yes, succulents are so beautiful and weather well in my climate. I just really love tropical plants but they take so much water and I’ve already been fined a couple of times

Putting crystals on succulent leaves is such a pretty idea!

Thank you! It started with small crystals and now I but a little bigger ones to dot the landscape.

Adoro las fotos de su bello jardín.
Pasaba a saludarle y a desearle un grandioso y feliz día del amor y la amistad.
IMAG0988.jpg

Mil abrazos mi estimado amigo! Espero q hayas tenido un lindo dia hoy y siempre con tus seres amados! Q linda orquidia! Gracias por compartirla conmigo!

Si esta en nuestro jardín y hoy esta en flor con un aroma espectacular.

Wow. Natural beauty. This is really beautiful I must say.

Not really into gardening. My husband does it, so I can't really say much. But how he does it is simply lovely and admirable.

Thanks for sharing @artedellavita

BTW, HAPPY VALENTINE'S DAY
UPVOTED

Valentines-succulents-roses-arrangement.jpg

I love gardening, I find it very therapeutic. Happy Valentines to you as well!

Where Is This Challenge: Here is my recent challenge post. See if you can guess the location and win 0.1 SBD.
WhereIsThis_Red_Small.png

You have such a beautiful garden!

Your yard looks really nice. @marxrab and I are about to begin our 2nd Spring in this house, so we are looking to get the yard in order this year. We want to grow a lot of things we can eat but also some plants just for looks. Instead of getting her grown flowers for Valentines Day, I got her some bulbs that we can plant.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17