Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

IMG_7007.jpg
This is the last post from the series. This post is fully dedicated to the city of Ensenada. I can't wait to return and spend enough time there to complete a full spread of the place. But until then, This is what I was able to put together to share with you. I hope that you enjoy this last set of photos and if you have a chance to visit, I recommend you do. Ensenada is a very nice place, and as far as I could tell, very safe, beautiful, fun and most importantly, relaxing.

IMG_7042.jpg
This huge Mexican flag is right in the center of town. The red in the flag symbolizes the blood spilled by all that died defending it and for their country. The red is so deep and rich that it captivated my attention, and I love how well it depicts what it symbolizes. I must admit that red is my favorite color, I suppose I’m a bit impartial here ☺️

Monumento A Los Niños Héroes.
_MG_7917-2.jpg
September 13, 1847, during the Mexican-American war, American forces were wining and advancing into Chapultepec. They were headed to take over El Castillo de Chapultepec, which was a very important military college in Mexico, and the place that housed the six young cadets now celebrated with this monument. After being given orders to retreat, all the cadets left the palace, except for the six cadets that we now remember as Los Niños Héroes (the hero children). These boys fought for their country until their death.

The young cadets’ ages ranged from 13 years to 20 years of age, and all died valiantly on September 13, 1847 and for their country. The battle was still lost, but it's believed that one of the cadets, wrapped himself on the flag and jumped off to his death in order to stop the enemy from taking his beloved Mexican flag. Very moving story, and what valiant young boys.

IMG_7836.jpg
Huge cargo ship being loaded at the port.

IMG_7040.jpg

IMG_7031.jpg
Ships take tourists around either for sightseeing or fishing. One of the most popular activities here is whale watching. I haven’t done that but it’s definitely in my to do list.

IMG_7006.jpg
The port of Ensenada, a very busy port with something for everyone.
IMG_7827.jpg

IMG_7025.jpg
There seems to be a very good amount of tourism here. I noticed a huge police presence enforcing traffic laws and patrolling the city, hence my assumption that it must be one of México’s safer tourist ocean side cities. Disclaimer, I did not visit the place at night, I would not not how it is for nightlife but it truly seemed like a very quite and relaxed place. For goodness sake, they even have a Starbucks and Costco! lol

Ensenada is very close to San Diego and shares the same climate and very similar vibe but at much lower prices. Hotel prices range from $30 USD to over $100 USD. In my opinion it’s a very good choice to vacation for less.

Nuestra Señora del Carmen
IMG_7843-3.jpg
Nuestra Señora del Carmen, she’s a saint believed by Catholics in Mexico to be the saint for all that work or go to the ocean. Fun fact, there’s pretty much a saint for everything in Mexico. Even a saint for pets and one for death (not the same). I thinks it’s a nice thing, for having faith in something positive is never a bad thing in my book.

IMG_7861.jpg
This seems to be a civic area where concerts or presentations may take place. I love the shape of it and how it looks like a seashell.

IMG_7864.jpg
Tecate is the most common brand of Mexican beer, also the name of a nearby city. The beer is dark, strong and it tastes awful to me, but some people love it. It's sold in what seems to be huge littler containers (I'm probably exaggerating) I don't know, to each their own.

IMG_7009-2.jpg
A couple of the streets around the Black Market shops.
IMG_7791-2.jpg

IMG_7820-2.jpg
Souvenirs being sold at the Black Market.

IMG_7815-3.jpg

IMG_7796.jpg

_MG_7774.jpg
Beautiful flowers being sold by a street vendor. There are tons of street vendors here. Selling all sorts of items ranging from “chicles” (gum), to shirts and sandals. Whatever you need, just ask a street vendor and they will either get it for you or tell you were to get it.

IMG_7785-2.jpg

IMG_7015-2.jpg
Food and music, perfect pair!

IMG_7848.jpg

Ancla Tipo “Almirantazgo”
IMG_7851-2.jpg
This anchor was retrieved from the Sea of Cortez. It's believed to belong to a French ship from the 19th Century.

IMG_7856.jpg
Huge cruise ship making at stop in Ensenada.

IMG_7845-4.jpg

IMG_7846-2.jpg

Finally done sharing all the photos from my last visit to Ensenada. I hope you liked and enjoyed my posts as much as I enjoyed making them to share. Thank you so very much for taking the time to stop by and read my stories and look at my photos. I truly appreciate it. Thank you!!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cave-man from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

THANK YOU!! 🙏🏼☺️❤️ It’s an honor to be noticed and upvoted by you. THANK YOU!!

Awesome photos .., did you get yourself any of those souvenirs ?

Ha! Of course we did! Spent all my money buying trinkets 🤦🏻‍♀️

What a ducumentary! Your skills are beyond ! I enjoyed everything on the post! Thank you for sharing!

Thank you for your kind comment and support 🙏🏼☺️

Excellent article. I really liked it. Good luck to you and Love.

Отличная статья. Мне очень понравилось. Удачи Вам и Любви

Thank you so very much for taking the time to read my post! I appreciate it 🙏🏼☺️

Very charming place and you captured it so beutifully. I enjoyed reading your post very much 😊

Oh thank you so much for your kind words! 🙏🏼☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94