Sort:  

Awesome old pump. They don't make em like that anymore :)

Built to last!

(:
Yes they do....last !!!!!!
I love my well and hand pump.
One Winter it did freeze underground ... My fault.
I should have been up more in the night moving the water.
(:

Haha @annephilbrick! Yeah I am lucky that I use a spring who's water has yet to freeze. I was so surprised last winter when I was 'sure' it would be frozen after days of freezing temperatures that the spring was still flowing. This year I have it piped up to the 'yard' of the homestead from about two hundred feet up in the woods. I just went today and buried the small five gallon holding tank and all the lines with a bunch of leaves. I am going to add more leaves to it over the next several days and just leave it trickling out of the pipe and see how it works out. The only spot that I could not bury is where I have the water line lashed to a log that crosses the creek. I am going to try to find a long enough hollow log to span the creek and put the line inside of it and stuff it with leaves. So far that's my only idea for a solution but I keep racking my brain for a better one so who knows.

as long as it is running it should not freeze

Sometimes even if it is running it can freeze but I think that the spring water is warm enough that it won't. It was around twenty degrees Fahrenheit last night and it did not freeze so that is good. We will see how it does when it gets down in the teens or single digits and stays that way for a week or two.

20 it to cold, are you staying warm. I worry you are going to freeze to death. I hope you get everything set the way you need it to be for the winter.

@myjob I am better setup this winter than the previous two so I am sure I will be fine. Twenty degrees Fahrenheit (while cold) is not all that bad. I can pretty much keep a ten degrees difference between the outside temperature and the inside temperature. So twenty outside makes for a balmy thirty inside. Two things will always keep me from freezing to death...I am too ornery and under the blankets with the dogs it is always warm.

we had a pump like this when I was a kid.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29