You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Monkey's in the Zoo

in #photography7 years ago

As you know as your one of my followers, I’m a zookeeper. Looking at your lovely photographs of the animal in question he/she looks healthy, potentially an older ape, and the encounter you witnessed i believe is a sign of dominance. They are so like us in many ways and get agitated very easily. Usually zoos have one way glass for large apes for this reason. They read our facial expressions so much more easier than us that if you were smiling for example, he might have seen that as a dominance sign and told you off for it. It’s hard to tell by what you have written as I wasn’t there. I hope that you can see why we have animals in captivity these days, the wild isn’t safe and there is hardly anything for these animals to go back to as we have destroyed it. Captive species are an insurance policy for the future and for reintroduction programs- zoos don’t breed for fun there are species cooridinators that control breeding populations of animals. Sadly as a species, we have destroyed everything on this planet and will continue to do so that these amazing creatures will continue to suffer. Even being a keeper I don’t wish for my animals to be in captivity but as long as I ensure that they are well fed, have the best veterinary care, have a wonderful life exhibiting the same behaviours as their wild cousins, I can keep them busy with enrichment and also help bring new life into the world to save a species then I can go home each night without worrying. I hate it when zoos are tarnished yet no one is willing to actually do something about it. Frustrating to say the least. Anyway, love the photos looking forward to seeing more.

signature.png

Sort:  

Love that you left a comment, thank you. Great to read.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64884.95
ETH 2619.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82