Finding your inspiration as a photographer

in #photography5 years ago

Looking for inspiration in the works of other photographers is very important for developing skills and finding the niche you enjoy the most. You get little creative bits from different sources and ultimately come up with your unique style. I do it subconsciously and later realize how different photographers have influenced me. It doesn't even have to be photography - you can find inspiration in paintings, music, cinema or any other form of art.

With the explosion of social media networks so many talented artists are sharing their amazing work so it's easy to find stuff that draws you the most. I might turn this into a series, so I'll start by mentioning one I've learned a lot from.

kudo_bass is a wonderful photographer from Edinburgh and she specializes in these perfectly timed, clean and straight compositions with silhouettes of passers-by that give it a sense of scale. She uses sub-framing, empty space and perspective to lead the viewer to important subject of the photo. Compositions are usually very contrasty and colorful and pleasing to the eye. The second type of photos you can see on her profile are closeup candid portraits of locals. She's very skillful at getting this challenging shots to turn so crisp like everything else she does.

I'm sure you'll get a desire to visit the beautiful Edinburgh after seeing the streets through her 35mm Fuji lens. And hopefully you get a few ideas how to further improve your photography.

Below are my photos taken few weeks ago with Fuji X100F.


Sort:  

Thumbs up m8, sunset pictures always make me feel warm.

Btw, new article. I'd appreciate your review on it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34