Did someone say, Active Volcano?

in #photofeed6 years ago

Taking it back to last year when I went to the Big Island with my best friend @miindfulness . Was going through my hard drive today, and saw these images that I totally forgot I had. Found some great images, these just happen to be some I haven’t posted. Nothing wrong with that. As long as the quality is there.

The image below is Lava flowing down to the ocean. To see the Lava Flow it is free of charge when you go out to the edge to see it. Free parking, all you have to do is walk 4 miles to the edge. Oh... but what if you don’t want to walk? Well, they have bikes you can rent for $10, so don’t panic. If you don’t like bike riding, I suggest the boat that takes you pretty close to the lava. Not sure how much it costs, but I’m sure it’s worth it, when there is actual lava flowing. Yes, the volcano is active but Lava doesn’t flow 24/7.
image
Here we have a lava tube! This lava tube was pretty freakin’ dope. One because it was made with lava, two because you can walk through it. You can see how the lava made its way through Earth! It’s insane! Just the thought of walking through a lava tube to get to the other side, to finish your hike sounds pretty badass to me.... but that’s cause it is! Again, gotta be comfortable walking in Hawaii, cause you will be doing that a lot if you want to see awesome stuff!

image
So this is a volcano crater that we can also walk through (hike). This hike takes about an hour and a half to complete. It is not difficult whatsoever; but, you will see smoke from the volcano come out through the cracks of the ground/molten rock. Pretty crazy cool...? My mom wasn’t too happy when I told her what I was doing that day.

image

An image of that volcanic smoke I was talking about. Probably not the right term for this smoke/smog, but you get the point. Anyway, you’ll see this frequently during your hike, but not to the point where you cannot finish. If you want to get a closer look, you can, just be careful. Some of these gases are not good for your health. Be very cautious during your hike over the crater.
image

Lastly, I have a picture of my best friend. This is how the beginning of the Lava Tube looks like. There is a bridge that will connect you to the tube. Really sturdy so no need to worry. This area has 3 available hikes. Took us about 4 hours to complete; The lava flow is about 4 min away from the park. I believe we walked about 15 miles that day, but it was all totally worth i!

Hope you have a great night/morning! Aloha!

-Amy 🌺
image

Sort:  

Great use of the lava tube opening as a frame for your shot.

I need to put Hawaii on my travel list.

It's most definitely a must see place ^_^ thank you for your comment.

We have volcanoes but none with any large tubes here in Costa Rica. Was there any sulfur in the air?

I don’t believe so... it was an old lava tube that is no longer in use, just for tourists. But there are signs everywhere when you go see the lava flow stating there are dangerous chemicals. Mostly because you’re walking on molten rock to get the edge, and there is lava flowing down from the volcano.

  1. incredible beauty that naturally
    Wow nice photo

I've never even heard of a lava tube! That looks unreal! Hawaii definitely needs to be put on my short list of places to see!!!

Definitely one to keep on the list! Such a beautiful place with so much to do! Have an awesome day! :)

Wow, amazing tour of lava hiking, lava can be dangerous but amazing action of nature and specially I liked the lava tube to pass through. Thanks for all these amazing pictures.

Have a great day and stay blessed.

Anytime! I’m so glad you enjoyed it! Thank you for the feedback & stay blessed my friend!

Welcome and thank you. ☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67