back south means crossing the drake again

in #photofeed5 years ago

The Drake passage can be quite the adventurous stretch of water that you need to cross in order to experience the remote beauty of the Antarctica peninsula. Sometimes it can be flat calm and almost glassy, which is great if you easily get sea sick, as the crossing takes the better part of two days. Personally, I do not mind a bit of adventure when making the crossing either to or from the peninsula back to Ushuaia, as it does allow for some fun photo opportunity of the ship crashing through the waves.

This time was one of those opportunities and happened to be the last crossing from last season. The bridge reported 5-7m waves with the occasional 8m wave smacking into the bow of the 100m vessel. It was a fun time of waiting for one of the waves taking a series of shots, followed by ducking down under a barrier to ensure I don't get wet or my camera gear.


IMG_6374-1.jpg
Click image to view full size


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

I said before and I will say it again. You live an amazing life. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80