Silver Fern

in #photofeed6 years ago

The Silver Fern is an important symbol in Māori culture. Because of its unique silver underside, it was used as a marker by early hunters to find their way back through the thick tropical forests. Additionally, the Koru, or "fiddlehead," symbolizes the beginning of a new life, and is frequently referred to in Māori traditions and carvings. Today the Silver Fern is used as New Zealand's national symbol.

I'm falling in love with this country more and more each day.
DSC_0367.jpg

Click on the image to view full screen


DSC_0368.jpg

Click on the image to view full screen


DSC_0446.jpg

Click on the image to view full screen


Sort:  

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Beautiful shades of green. Dreamy and still clear.

Ahhhh, so that's the significance of the fern for the All Blacks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28