Epic alpine lakes in the Cascade Range of Washington State

in #photofeed6 years ago

People always ask me about my camera gear. This photo was taken with a $100 lens (aka not very "good"). Gear is nice, sure, but locations are infinitely more important. Don't waste your money upgrading your camera in beliefs that it will make your photos better. Use that money, buy a good pair of hiking boots, see what happens.

One of my favorite quotes (Jim Richardson, Nat Geo photographer)- “If you want to be a better photographer, stand in front of more interesting stuff.”

It's the weekend, now get out there.
-Nathaniel

289.jpg

Sort:  

Where is this beautiful lake?

Alpine Lakes Wilderness, in Washington State

amazing ! Really clean and sharp photo !

Super.it is a beautiful.

The detail you captured of the rocks is so cool, and I like the depth created by the multiple layers of peaks fading into the background. Great shot!

Thank you! Epic place

The background reminded me of those flying mountains from the Avatar movie. Beautiful image.

Excellent advice!

Glad you think so!

Wise words, my dude! Love the image. Can't wait to get out there and see this stuff.

Are you joining Chase on that roadtrip? Thanks dude

Yeah, I'm moving from AK to CA this summer. We're stopping by my home in VA along the way. So we've got plenty of miles to cover and lots of stuff to see! It should work out to be around 15K miles over 70 days.

Couldn't agree more @nathanielwise - I'm not a photographer but i do like to dabble from time to time (i mostly use my camera for reference shots for my paintings). Same concept applies to painting landscapes too i would say. Nice work my friend!

Lovely photo! I like the advise too! I only have four lenses, each worth about $100. I have been debating how to invest the little extra money I have (upgrades or travel), and I chose to book a three days trip to Colorado instead of investing in gear. We'll see what that brings, but it was nice to read someone else's thoughts on this. :)

Great view, nice details and awesome layers!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58976.49
ETH 2502.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48