Wildflowers at Dusk | Mount Rainier National Park

in #photofeed6 years ago

The Start of Something Beautiful

On a scorching hot, early July afternoon two friends and I packed up our bags and drove out to Mount Rainier National Park for one of our first overnight trips for the year. We were excited to finally be able to stretch our legs prepare ourselves for the upcoming hiking season. Wildflowers, deer, and fantastic views of one of the tallest mountains in the lower 48 were all frequent things we enjoyed on the trip. As a matter of fact, once you're in the National Park there's hardly a spot in there that doesn't have an eye popping view of the mountain. It's truly gorgeous from all sides and even though I haven't spent nearly as much as I'd like there, it's one of my favorite places to go explore.

Wildflower season is short and sweet here in Washington so if you can get into the mountains when they're at their peak, it's an amazing experience. The red flowers you see are called Indian Paintbrush and are my absolute favorite flower around here. The striking red color contrast so beautifully against the landscapes here.

Side Note and Pro Tip
I often don't carry a tripod with me for weight reasons when I'm backpacking but if I really need to setup a shot with a long exposure like this one, I pile up rocks for my camera to sit on. It's not the best solution but it works surprisingly well AND it allows you to get super low to the ground so the foreground really fills up your frame, much lower than my tripod, believe it or not.

IMG_5787-2.jpg

Sort:  

Where does Mount Rainier National Park located? These wild flower have such a beautiful color; add to the beauty of this place. If you have pictures of the deer, it would be great to share.

Sadly, I don’t have any photos of the deer. They were really shy! Mount Rainier is located in Washington State. :)

A pile of rocks...and here I am lugging around a massive tripod :D

Great shot!

I want to make a joke about how you're a pile of Stone, instead of rocks. But no good punchline is coming to mind, so just know I thought of it.

I appreciate the effort :D
I find it hard to rest a camera on my back while I'm laying down and trying to press the shutter button. Maybe I could be like Spider Man and use A Web(er).
Ok that was lame, I'm sorry.

You could just lay it on your stone hard abs?

And yeah.. I've mean I've heard worse, but.. Wasn't your finest work ;)

My abs! Now why didn't I think of that?

What about a pile of straw ?

Hahaha Gotta downsize mate! I do way too many miles to carry around my tripod. I do carry it when I’m dayhiking though

Am I missing something? I feel like a pile of rocks will weigh more than a tripod...........................

Brilliant 🤣

Thanks for sharing these incredible photos! It encourages me to travel more, although it can be tiring.

Thank you for the support! It can definitely be tiring but I think it’s worth it in the end :)

Gorgeous reds there man, totally brings in ones attention, with that gorgeous background.

Thank you man! The whole park is just phenomenal, you have to see it one day!

Dude!!! So good. The color is just awesome and I love the composition. It flows so well.

Thanks dude! I like to think that nature did all the work for me, I just got lucky and walked by the scene

It almost looks like the foreground and background are from two entirely different photos the topography is so different - very cool juxtaposition!

Gorgeous picture, thanks for the insights too!

dude so sick!

This is excellent . All the better from a pile of rocks .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59077.53
ETH 2518.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48