Photographing the Alps - Stubai Valley Magic

in #photofeed6 years ago

This summer I visited the Stubai Valley three times. It's such a beautiful and photogenic area in the Austrian Alps that I just had to come back again and again. And I will certainly do so next year.

On my recent trip into the Alps I went to photograph a very special view. The week before I had already been hiking and scouting the area near Falbeson, but the weather wasn't right to take the photos I instantly had in mind as I stood up in the alpine valley.

So I came back and despite having a light cold, a long drive ahead of me and a less than ideal weather forecast it was the right thing to do.

Moody Mountain atmosphere in the Stubai Valley

The first day it was still quite cloudy and in the evening those clouds descended and unfortunately I couldn't get a photo of the peaks. But the lush green valley still made for a great subject once I had found the right composition.

The important thing was finding a suitable foreground and some leading lines. If you look closely at the photo above you'll see a lot of repetition of diagonals and shapes. This helped me to create a harmonic photo.

The Neue Regensburger Hütte during dawn

The night I spent in my sleeping bag in front of the hut, which you see in the photo above. The hut was booked, which is quite normal for a weekend. But sleeping on a bench beneath the porch was quite comfortable.

I still woke up a few times throughout the night and everytime I did I checked the sky. And it didn't look good. The clouds had descended even further and I was basically sleeping in the clouds. I didn't expect to get the photo I was after in the morning.

But as you can see, in the end it worked out. And I documented the whole experience in this little vlog.

I hope you enjoyed this little hike in the mountains as much as I did. Sure enough it wasn't helping my cold and I needed a few days to recover afterwards. But was it worth it? Totally.

Michael Breitung Photography

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_2 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-23T17:24:15
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 514.14/800.00
Total Photos: 56
Total comments: 18
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 3.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Hello @mibreit-photo, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14