In Which We Grieve for Notre Dame

in #photofeed5 years ago

NotreDame06.jpg

I was going to post more Easter eggs, but this has overshadowed everything for the day.

All day I have been weeping -- literally weeping -- over the tragedy we've seen today as Notre Dame in Paris was nearly obliterated by a devastating fire.

I watched the live feeds as the spire collapsed into the building, and my hand went to my mouth in absolute horror.

I remember visiting Notre Dame. It's the only time I've been to Paris, and I only had a couple of days there. But visiting Notre Dame wasn't even a question. We went to a Sunday morning Mass there. Our little group arrived early, and of course the cathedral had not yet opened its doors for regular tourism -- that would not happen until after the Mass. But we were allowed to walk around the interior, and I was even able to take photos. It was amazing. We had the cathedral all to ourselves! No maneuvering around hundreds of eager tourists, no shooting photos over dozens of heads. It was quiet. It was peaceful. It was spiritual.

Such a crazy contrast to the angry flames that tore through the roof and wiped out the woodwork and nearly took the entire cathedral with it.

The damage isn't as bad as I feared, thank heavens. But it will take years to rebuild.

But it WILL be rebuilt! People have already started declaring their willingness to chip in, and I myself am running a fundraiser through my 1000 Holy Places mission project.

We need to preserve this and bring it back to its greatest glory.

NotreDame01.jpg

NotreDame05.jpg

NotreDame03.JPG

NotreDame02.JPG

Help us preserve this and other cathedrals by joining our Patreon -- that's what this project is all about.
https://www.patreon.com/1000HolyPlaces

Sort:  

Resteemed...what a sad time.

I agree. I have cried so much over this.

Hope the money get's there.Most time it get's to a minority of pockets.

That's part of why I set up my OWN funding efforts. I know I will get those funds to where they belong. But ultimately, I do think that the funds will get there. It's important to enough people.

🎁 Dear @liondani,

SteemBet Seed round SPT sale is about to start in 2 days!

When our started the development of SteemBet Dice game, we couldn’t imagine that our game would go so viral and that SteemBet would become one of the pioneers in this field.

In order to give back to our beloved community, we’ll distribute 4000 STEEM to SPT holders immediately after Seed sale. Plus, investors in this earliest round will be given 60% more tokens as reward and overall Return on Investment is estimated at 300%!

Join the whitelist on SteemBet webiste now and start investing! Feel free to ask us anything on Discord https://discord.gg/tNWJEAD

spt-sale-2-day.jpg

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @smeralda and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Thank you so much! I definitely feel honored.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75