Pyramid Under the Stars

in #photofeed5 years ago

I do enjoy making star trails photos. lining up the South Celestial Pole isn't always easy as we don't have a (easily visible) star to line up where everything will rotate around.

This is taken at Pyramid Rock on Phillip Island. 100 exposures at 30sec each stacked together in Photoshop with some satellite and plane trails removed from individual exposures. And some fading opacity.

pyramid-rock-trails1 a.jpg

Camera Settings


Canon 5D MKIII
16mm
F4
30sec (x100)
ISO3200


Intro Post
Website kieranstone.com
Instagram @kieranstoneau
Facebook Kieran Stone


Sort:  

Wow... that's just pure magic!

That is a really nice shot. Photographing stars can be tricky, but you have done well!

Thanks very much! Star trails are fun because I can set the camera up then spend an hour or two star gazing :)

Great job Kieran. btw I usually intersect a line from the long axis of the Southern cross with a perpendicular from the pointer stars to get approximate south celestial pole.

Thank you! I use the same method which works well just for orientation. But it can be tricky getting it exactly where you want it in the composition. Another shot I did the night before had it a little to close to the top of the image for my liking. I also use 4.5 lengths of the SC to find the SCP.

Nice. I have always been a bit torn by star trails as to if I like them or not. I think they work here as the foreground is so low and simple. Hope your well and glad to see your still steeming.

Just like any photography, it looks good when it's done right ;)

Yes I guess. Some styles are more prone to abuse than others.

Thanks heaps!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75