Lucky Shot

in #photofeed6 years ago

On most of my trips to China everything is arranged for me. Even when I take a group of photographers to China, the planning of the photo opportunities is centred around the members who will be going on the trip and not necessarily on what I would like to photograph as a landscape photographer – remember I am trying to take the photographers to places I have visited before. I always have in mind that I must try to get the best for the other photographers with my own photographic needs playing second fiddle.


The Guardians

My trip in December 2016 to China was different than the ones before. It was not planned for me. This is not totally true… I went for 15 days. On day 4 I was giving a lecture about “Creative Landscape photography” and the second weekend of the trip I was presenting a landscape workshop.

But the rest of this trip was open for my own photography. I could plan it around my own needs!

Landscape photography with impact is all about uniqueness.

We as landscape photographers are mainly dependant on external circumstance to capture that uniqueness; Special light, clouds in the sky, severe weather conditions, special season properties, unique views, the position of the moon and start, etc.

Based on this you might think that a unique landscape photograph is all about chance, and, although this is true in a sense, you as the photographer must also work hard to ensure that "luck is on your side".

It does not help to go to a place just because you saw a similar photograph someone else took. Although that photograph had the necessary impact when you saw it the first time, it is now out there. It is done. For you to take a similar photo with similar impact, you will need to outdo that person who took it first!

I have presented quite a number of landscape workshops in the past but have not used these photos in photographic salons because I want to give the delegates the opportunity to let their photos be the first – have that uniqueness that gives it impact. But even so, for the delegates of a workshop to get a unique photo, they will need to do something different - remember, there are 8 to 10 people at the same scene at the same time, with the same light and the same weather conditions!

I found that "manipulation of the scene" is one of those techniques that could lift your photo to the level of uniqueness that will ensure the necessary impact. This manipulation could be (and very often is) post-processing techniques, but it could also be based on your "tools" – what you have with you when taking the photo to make it different.

One of my "tools" I use quite often, is my set of Neutral Density Filters.

The photo planning for this trip was actually very biased because of several factors:

  • I made an appointment to visit the NiSi filter company in China to learn more about their filters offering.
  • The theme of the landscape weekend workshop was "Long Exposure Landscape Photography"
  • I have previously seen some specific spots that are ideal long exposure candidates.

Based on the above my planning was mostly about long exposure landscape photography.

As an example, let me explain the photo above called "The Guardians" as the planning for this photo was the most elaborate.

On a previous trip, during the approach to Hong Kong Airport, I noticed through the aeroplane window that the runway lights were protruding into the sea and that the base of this platform had an interesting structure. I grabbed a photo through the window as a reminder to investigate this as a photo opportunity.


Approaching Hong Kong

(View of Hong Kong Airport surroundings during our landing approach. Notice the line of landing guidance lights just visible above the Aeroplane's Engine)

I used Google maps to confirm that this is actually a possibility as well as how the surrounding area looks from the sky. I then used The Photographer’s Ephemeris ("PhotoEphemeris.com") to confirm the point of view with regards sunset and sunrise direction. My conclusion was that although this platform was pointing south, south-west, it will be a morning photo as the mountains on the left will take away some of the simplicity if taken in the afternoon.

Simplicity is a very effective composition technique
in long exposure landscape photography.

The location, however, did present a problem. It is located next to the international airport and is actually part of the airport. I did notice that there is a road that past right next to it but I could not confirm whether this is a public road or not. There were no bus routes close by, and walking from the actual airport terminals will be impossible as you will need to cross the high ways and climb over barriers.

After much deliberation, I convinced (via Xiaoyi) an old school friend of Xiaoyi's to take us there with his car. We decided that if there is not parking he will drop us off and pick us up afterwards again. On arrival, we found that it is a public road and that he could actually park there and wait for us.

Taking the photo took about one hour and nobody ever stopped to ask what we were doing.

This is my entry in the week's #longexposurephotography challenge created by @juliank. I hope you enjoy it.

Sort:  

my dear friend has been a perfect trip because you have taken a wonderful long exposure photograph.
Exceptional with perfect kadraj! exposure time and colors are amazing

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #longexposurephotography

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 20:49:11
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 475.44/800.00
Total Photos: 25
Total comments: 5
Total contest wins: 7
And have also received a 0.90 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Aaaaaahh the search for the most unique photography... an eternal yet exhilarating struggle.
I think I'd learn a lot from taking part in your workshops and trips. In the meantime, reading your posts does provide me with a few tips, ideas, and an extra boost of inspiration :)

Thank you. I also hope one day you will join us on one of these trips. I have been invited to be one of the judges on a German photographic Salon next month, and afterwards, we will be doing some scouting for future trips in Germany. I also have plans for the UK! So not only in China anymore!

Congrats! Sounds like you've got a busy year ahead :)

Thanks for posting this. I have yet to travel though China. Such an amazing diverse place. Glad you got to see some different things on this trip.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75