A visit to memory lane - Vancouver Island // A Photo Jounal

in #photofeed6 years ago

IMG_1373.jpg

Where I'd want to live

For some reason ever since I was little the draw of Vancouver Island has been something that has been hard to shake. I grew up visiting my Great Grandmother in Nanaimo almost every summer. The memories of visiting her are some of my strongest from childhood. From the taste of her Kuchen (cake) to stealing blackberries together from the neighbours, and hearing her giggle. The island calls, I think one day I'll move here. One day.

IMG_1387.jpg

Vivid memories

We used to go with her neighbour (a former firefighter) on his boat to go salmon fishing. I still like fishing, and don't get to do it nearly enough. We'd get up early and take his boat out - he was kind enough to always let me pull one in. I also remember being completely grossed out by sea lice (look it up). He was a good man, taught us how to fillet and clean the fish. I often wonder why it's this stuff I remember from my childhood.

IMG_1754.jpg

Learned tastes

It was on the island that I learned to love the taste of the sea. I love oysters, and muscles and clams. I wish my kid would like these tastes too, but I guess without the associated experience of digging them out of the sand with your hands it just seems like gooey slime. I remember going out with buckets and picking clams when the tide was out with the locals. Bringing the bounty back to the beach, putting them in buckets of fresh water with oatmeal so they'd clean themselves. Then, we'd play all day anticipating cooking them over the fire with a bit of garlic and butter. It doesn't get better than this. Unfortunately it's been overpicked quite heavily - so it's almost impossible to have the same experience. Maybe way up north....

(The photo above is an oyster farm.)

IMG_1390.jpg

Peace

There's nothing quite like being around the ocean in the early morning, and at the close of day. It's pure peace. I know solitude living near the mountains, but the ocean for some reason brings me peace. It's different. The sound of the waves quiets my mind like no where else.

IMG_1550.jpg

We'll be back...

As I was flipping through pictures of the island, it brought back so many good memories. Vivid ones and even a few sad ones. I miss my great grandma, she was amazing and I wish my daughter could have met her. I'm glad I could show her a few of the places we grew up visiting, and I hope I can show her more in the coming years.

If you haven't been to Vancouver Island I highly recommend it.

Perhaps you'll make some of your own island memories.

Where were the photos taken?

(All of the above photos were taken in Fanny Bay. Near Comox, BC. Famous for oysters and a great place for a holiday. I highly recommend it. The low tides are great for SUP, kids and dogs. They go out forever, and when they come back it warms the pacific over the sand. Perfect)

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-01T13:10:39
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 1732.97/3200.00
Total Photos: 211
Total comments: 110
Total contest wins: 7
And have also received a 2.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I talked to a guy at a gas station in Nevada who was on his way to pick up his wife in California and they were going to ride the PCH to the ferry dock in Blaine, take the Ferry to Victoria and ride to Nanimo. What a great trip.

I just love Vancouver Island and Nanimo particularly. I have a really good buddy that did one week per month at the NATO base there for his last two years in the Navy. He was a diver and has great Nanimo stories from the mid 80s.

Thanks for sharing this. Warms my heart.

Hi jfolkmann,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Thank you so much @curie ! It's a lovely surprise to come back to today :) Much appreciated.

Hi jfolkmann, I enjoyed seen those photos of yours they are great. Did you do any fishing there?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13