TESTING THE LIGHTS - (how this picture came to be) - DC LDS Temple

in #photofeed6 years ago

There is a fun short story about how this shot came to be.

Optional Text

First of all I should explain that I spent 13 months on the road photographing over 4000 religious buildings from 2013-2014 but that's a story for another day.

This view and even this angle isn't for some reason one of a kind I'm sure others have done it plenty.
I've done it on several other visits


This is the popular view many get on most visits

I just happened to plan for a day the building is closed... usually Monday mornings is a good time, so there aren't a ton of vehicles in the parking lot.

Optional Text

This was the view I got that morning... really early in the morning while the stars where still out

WHY IS IT UNIQUE?
It's a small but influential reason...
What was unique is I happened to be there on a day they were testing the lights in preperation for christmas.

This building: The Washington DC LDS temple (which is barely outside of DC btw) has an amazing christmas lights display and tons of public come and walk around during the holidays.

Well the fun thing is it was still FALL all the leaves are on the trees for the most part. It makes the picture more full and even more beautiful colors. Also they usually don't have lights on at like 5:42am which is when I took this. So I was able to get no cars in the parking lot, I was able to get the lights on the temple way powered down so that stars were a possibility. So all those things came together to make these couple of pictures.

"Be ready for the great opportunities that fall into your lap"

I didn't plan it .... just one of the good things that happened as I traveled around the country. But knowing how to take advantage of good opportunities IS still a big deal. Being ready for those moment.

p.s. side story is I talked to the engineers and they were almost willing to turn the lights all the way off so i could get really cool star pictures.... but turns out it's not allowed and maybe even not permitted by the city for them to turn the lights all the way off because of air traffic needs.

Here are a couple other shots from that day

Optional Text

Optional Text

WHAT SPURRED THIS POST?
Someone actually baught a 24x36 of the vertical image (2nd one) this morning
So i was thinking back about that story.

My art is available here:
http://www.jarviedigital.com/Temples/Organized-by-Temple/Washington-DC-LDS-Temple/

And many other places online. (But my site is my favorite)

Sort:  

Cool story. Taking advantages of opportunities!

Woow! This is work I really admire! Sometimes waiting is really pays off! :)
I just join for my very ever first contest on steemit, I would glad if you check it out! You might like it! ;) I would be very happy for your opinion and support!

It’s a cool building . Some lovely shots

Well thank you kindly. Yep it was one of the cooler buildings I got to photograph that year.

Wow. Serendipity! Cool shot.

Wonderful post!! Great shot and interesting reading..

I have driven by that temple all my life and have wondered how it looks inside and WOW amazing. I've only seen it driving by on 495. Great shot and good reading material. Thanks for sharing!

Very striking when you're driving on that freeway isn't it?

Well it's quite the popular place to visit at christmas time specially. Now you'll have to go check out the christmas lights display in December! That seems to be when most people go visit the grounds.

Congratulations @jarvie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Beautiful photos! But yeah, especially that first one. Great timing.

Haha thanks... yeah the first one is certainly the most unique. Wasn't the one the people bought but we all know a horizontal image plays better as the first image of a steemit post. hahaha

Nice. Cheers to the print sale!

Wow these are so beautiful, the light on that building is just crazy, I have never seen anything like it before!

That last vertical photo with the reflection and stars is WOW!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17