sorting out life one load at a time

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)


Welcome to my laundry room.

After a long morning of sweeping and washing floors, making beds and picking up after the mister and dog, I get to have a quiet afternoon in the basement dungeon to hand scrub dirty clothes. My stir paddles ready, water pumped from my modern sink and my barrels ready for the hot water and borax. Monday is my normal wash day but my hands are still raw from last week's many loads. It's a good thing the children are grown and gone now or I would have no skin left on my hands at all. I am fortunate to have opportunity to do other things now.

DSC_1006.jpg

irony. the opposite of wrinkly

DSC_1004.jpg

The joys of hanging my delicates on the drying racks, heating up the irons make for the happiest moments in my life. There is something soothing about picking up my favorite iron while the other reheats and smoothing out the wrinkles on my favorite sheets and pillow cases. Usually I iron on Wednesday as it is a full day's job.

I keep my fire extinguishers close by just in case.

DSC_1005.jpg

Ah. The throne room. Time for some 'me' time and Steemit blogging.

DSC_0977.jpg

The simple life.
It just doesn't get better.




photos by
signature.png
Nikon D3100
Nikkor Lens 18-55mm | 55mm-200mm
Adobe Lightroom

© 2018, © all rights reserved

photos taken at Dundern Castle, Hamilton, Ontario

Sort:  

Well, you have every convenience known to the modern woman - I don't see why you can't spare a little down time at the end of a busy day, lol

lol... actually "lol" not the internet overused kind :)

thanks, Eric :)

bahahahaha! please retort @countrygirl. LOLOL

Can you imagine someone from now days to send into that time? I was thinking about cooking, I have my grand-grand mother cook book where recipes start with, kill one chicken...what life it was, unthinkable for those grown up in towns and flats @countrygirl..

that's so true.....I think it's good for us to visit these museums - it certainly puts some of our modernities into perspective. Thank you for your input @jungwatercolor :)

At least you're getting plenty of exercise and don't have to waste any time running or going to the gym ;-)

Yes, I have the pipes to prove it. 💪🏻

This post has received a 3.36 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

It's been a family story for ever about my relation down south many years ago when the commode was usually outdoors. When told that they were going to bring a new commode indoors, she scoffed at the idea saying who would ever want to bring a filthy thing like that indoors lol.

I never thot of that!!! You're right. It would have been very strange to bring all things bathroom INdoors....it would be filthy especially if they dug a dirt hole inside the house. lol. I grew up using an outhouse too - yuk. Summers at my grandmothers. It's a good experience though.

I do think the fire bucket brigade on the wall is a nice touch... I mean who wouldn't need to put out fires in the washroom???

good fun here... thanks

Thanks @genxrev. I don't think those fire buckets would do much to put out any fire. I mean, wheres the tap. Oh the it's the pump....can you imagine?

Your dedicated laundry room looks almost as big as my flat 😁 I used to iron my clothes when I was still living with my mom, but nowadays, I am way too lazy to do that :)

I hardly iron either...maybe a couple of shirts - I'll touch up but not like I used to when the kids were younger and had school uniforms and my husband was a teacher so he had to wear a shirt and tie. I could never get on top of the ironing.

Which room? The first one or the second one? Strangely the laundry room was where the buckets are - and it was small....the ironing room was quite big - maybe bc that's where the clothes hung to dry near the fireplace.

Nice photography. Your Iron room is very big.

Thanks. The photos are actually from a museum - Dundurn Castle. I was being funny :)

Oh..!! It was very funny.

This post has received a 2.86 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @johnjgeddes

I have to say, that gave me a pretty good giggle this morning. :D

hehe.....scrub a dub dub.....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15