A different angle on a popular location

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

My last stop for my week long spring break trip with my kids was Delicate Arch in Arches National Park, arguably the most well known arch in the world.

I knew I'd have to get up early to beat the crowds, and early we did wake up. But with 3 kids things go a little slower, it also didn't help that I stopped several times in the drive to the park to get photos of the sunrise.

I forgot how steep parts of that hike are, I had no problem but my kids tire quickly, unless of course they're playing "sand is lava", but they don't move very fast when they play that. My kids even staged a "lay-in" protest on the trail because they were so tired.

Even though we got there fairly early, we still had a pretty good crowd at the arch, but I noticed that hardly anyone went down into the toilet bowl below the arch, so I convinced my kids that where we needed to go. It involved playing around on the rocks so they were all in.
It was down here where I noticed the shadow of the arch and. I thought it would make a cool photo to have a sunburst (the Sony 16-35GM lens makes a killer sunburst)

I'd like to think I've got a fairly unique photo from this location, both times I've been there. One day I'll share my other photo from Delicate arch that is one of a kind.

Have you been to Delicate Arch and waited in line for you photo under the arch?

LRM_EXPORT_20180408_203140.jpg

Sony A7RIII, 16mm, f/13, 1/200, ISO 100. Edited in LR mobile.

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63006.70
ETH 3075.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82