Exploring Timisoara - The Little Vienna of Eastern Europe

in #photofeed6 years ago

I have written many articles about my travels in Romania. I spent a good 3 months there using up all my Schengen stay allowance in the process. Throughout my travels, I have gained a little bit of notoriety in the small Eastern European country – making it to several local newspapers. No, not because I am some badass outlaw on the run. It is because I have written extensively about Romania in my Blog Always Wanderlust, and Romanians love to hear great things about their country.


Click on image to view larger

However, out of the three months, I have been there, I have never checked out the highly recommended (by Romanians) Timisoara. I rented a flat in Budapest (Hungary) for about a month with no intention of going back to Romania. However, my girlfriend (fiancé now) was keen on going on a little adventure eastward so I packed up some stuff go!
We would take a train to Timisoara and then hitchhike our way through Serbia back to Hungary.


Click on image to view larger

We first searched for lodging online and found one in the outskirts of town with adequate price and reviews. Walking around in the suburbs did not give a good first impression of Timisoara. It is just like a scene from an old 70s horror film. Old communist buildings everywhere. I was not expecting East Oakland all the way out here!


Click on image to view larger

We came to the guesthouse we reserved (Arthouse Lucrezia) there were no doors, no entrance, and no offices. I double checked my GPS coordinates and was sure I am at the right place. The whole layout was insanely confusing and we could not find anybody or a way to get inside. We knocked, yelled, and circled the compound several times trying to find someone to no avail. We spent nearly an hour searching for somebody or a means in and eventually gave up.


Click on image to view larger

We decided to take a cab to town and look for another hotel or hostel. We found one near the center named Central Hotel in downtown Timisoara. The place was very centralized and we had access to the coolest spots in town. The contrast between the outskirts of town to the old center of town is like night and day. Beautiful, vibrant, and full of amazing picturesque architecture that rivals any leading cities in Western Europe.


Click on image to view larger

You can circle around the Piata Unirii and take your pick of numerous restaurants and cafes. I suggest Bistro Stradivarius at Piata Unirii (Union Square) for great food and outstanding atmosphere. You can maximize your day if you start from Piata Victoriei and just go from there. Do not worry about getting lost, we certainly did and discovered so many things. Besides, the city center is not particularly huge – you cannot really get lost.


Click on image to view larger

Have you been to Timisoara?

"Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness." - Mark Twain

All photos are taken and articles are written by Adonis Villanueva of Always Wanderlust unless otherwise stated.


GET UP TO 2X YOUR VOTE VALUE - Steem Follower
GET MORE FOLLOWERS - Steem Engine

Twitter Page, AlwaysWanderlust
Facebook Page, AlwaysWanderlust
Instagram Page, AlwaysWanderlust
Website, AlwaysWanderlust.com

© 2017 AlwaysWanderlust.com All Rights Reserved

Sort:  

You should visit also Oradea, Cluj-Napoca, Sibiu, Brasov, Iasi. In my opinion they are at least like Timisoara.

Been to Cluj, Sibiu, And Brasov :) will write about them in the future.

I live very close to Timisoara. It's a beautiful city indeed! I'm sharing this photo with you :) I took it 2 months ago

timisoara-55.jpg

Nice the pigeons flying in the frame always adds to the drama!

That's true! Thank you :)

Amazing! Thank you for promoting my country!

Up&resteem 😁

Romania Rocks!

wonderful "" appreciate in your blog.Thanks for sharing my dear friend

What a clear photos. Nice job!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Oh wow, I never heard of Timisoara, but these colourful houses are pretty unique! This is amazing. Thanks for finding & sharing it. Romania, wait for me!!!

I enjoy seeing those pictures, it is just like I'm also taking a trip there while reading your descriptions of the place.

Your post inspiring me.i am interesting visit eastern Europe ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82