Salt Lake Artesian WellsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photo3 years ago

artesian_well.jpg

I admit, I am fond of the idea of public drinking fountains. There used to be several businesses and schools that had fountains accessible to the public, but they have become scarce.

Salt Lake City Sports an artesian well at the corner of 500 East and 800 South. I remember that the city made a big deal about this park when we moved here in the 1970s. The well was used as a watering trough between Little Cottonwood Canyon and Temple Square. The current page for the park down plays the well's history.

The well collects water from Red Butte Canyon and the University of Utah area. The water has traces of the salt used on roads and probably has traces of whatever chemicals that people toss on their lawns. But the city reports that it is still good water.

I used to stop by this park regularly to fill my water bottle when I cycled to work. It was fortuitous that a cyclist showed up to fill his bottle while I was taking photos.

I filled the clear jug and the brown jug in the foreground of the picture.

Salt Lake City spent $355,000 to renovate the park in 2019. The second picture shows the park in 1999. I thought I had more pictures of the area.

image.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30