my new camera for YOU... (and me)

in #photo7 years ago

after a week of waiting and a lot of hassle to get the delivery signed off I have finally been able to unpack my brand spanking new camera


I have purchased the Olympus om-d e m10 mark II.  

I also know that last week the mark III version came out but then the price difference was still a bit to steep for me and as far as all that I have read my version should fit my needs just fine...  Always buying the best of the best would not make me a better photographer

And I will be the first to admit that I have a lot to learn when it comes to photography.  I have been reading up on the subject a lot and hope to be able to improve my skills and dazzle you all with amazing pictures here on steemit.

The main reason for buying it was that we are going to New Zealand for a month in december and although the iPhone does take good pictures I wanted something that would do the surroundings a little more justice...


As to why this model, previous to buying the camera I tried to read up on the topic and the first thing that came up a lot was:


DSLR or MIRRORLESS


I found loads of articles about this and this is apparently a really heated discussion in the photography communities BUT...


Mirrorless cameras have the advantage of usually being lighter, more compact, faster and better for video; but that comes at the cost of access to fewer lenses and accessories (apparently even that difference is growing smaller with a lot of new lenses coming out for mirrorless and since I am a beginner this does not really matter to me anyway). 

For beginners, mirrorless cameras are often a better choice due to their more compact size and simpler controls. Mirrorless cameras are also more likely to have a touchscreens than a similarly priced DSLR as well.


So i settled for the mirrorless just because its a bit smaller and if you are kinda backpacking space matters.


QUESTION FOR THE PROs :


The only thing now is some advice from the steemit photographers, the lens I have seems to be ok for the day to day stuff but I would like to get into macro photography and landscape, SO... is there a lens that can do both... (does not sound logical but I hope there is)


anyway, to end this, here is one of my first experiments at home, our own coffee station...

Sort:  

Congratulations @felander! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65726.71
ETH 2677.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91