Walking toward your goal might be slower, but you get to see all the beauty

in #philosophy7 years ago

Everyone is always rushing somewhere. I hate it. I love to move slowly and enjoy the process.

traukinys 2.jpg

We are raised to believe that being successful is the main goal in our lives. Sadly, no one ever told me what it is like to be successful. Is it all about money and social status? If yes - screw it. I don't need it.

People try to run toward their goals, but they rarely know what those goals are.

This hurts me so much. In one way, it makes me look as if I am a failure who lets himself wake up at 10 am and go our for a walk for a couple of hours. "How in the world he has time for that?" everyone thinks naturally. "He is just chilling and doing nothing," others probably add.

And that's a lie.

I love to think of myself as a slow walker, who knows for sure where is he going. And you know what? I have all my life to reach my stop, so I don't see any point rushing it.

People who look like doing everything so often do nothing.

traukinys.jpg
What if the train you are sitting in goes backward?

I would love to take some shortcuts toward my goal, but I don't believe those shortcuts exist. I live with this notion that I have to experience all the crumbles and falls to evolve into a smart creature. You know, if someone told me an answer to all the questions I would only have an answer with zero understanding or knowledge.

The only things no one can take away from you are the ones you earn by yourself.

It is my motto. It is the reason why I don't feel like jumping on a train to go faster. I just don't trust the driver to bring me to the right direction. Trains sometimes go backward, and it doesn't matter how fast you run on that train, you'll keep going backward.

If you know where are you going and how much time you need, you should never worry about anyone else moving faster.

Comparing and competitiveness are two nasty biatches. Yes, people tell that it is important to be competitive, but in reality, everyone has different tasks in life so competing loses sense. I mean, who is better, Michael Jordan or LeBron James? There is no answer to this question, and both of those men play basketball. Imagine if we start comparing basketball players with politicians. Well, we already do... and I hate it.

I stand for myself and I like my pace in life the way it is.

Sort:  

Well said. As Baz Luhrmann put it, "Ultimately, you have to pursue your own path, not someone's idea of the right path."

And those are very wise words!

I stood by myself and stand for myself since 1 year old love your writing and agree with you my pace my space. Peace

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of May 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.87 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 12 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59249.61
ETH 2526.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46