So often fa(i)(l)ling is the best part of the journey

in #philosophy7 years ago

We are afraid to fail. All of us are. Of course, some of you will say that "we need to fail in order to succeed," and other similar bullshit, but let's be honest - we are all afraid to fail. And that is ok. And yes, I am writing that "similar bullshit" at the moment, because why not?

Anyway, I tried SUPing the other day and what can I say? It is a fun sport, but the best part for me was jumping off the board and falling straight into the water. The best part for me was failing miserably at SUPing.

20961186_10209873233016049_2037092484_o.jpg

And that's how our lives go on. We are always told that it is not correct to jump off the SUPing board because the water would make us wet. And we all live thinking that it is a wrong thing to do. Sadly, no one ever tells us that swimming can be so fun. And none ever teaches us that we can see things from completely different perspective while failing. And most importantly:

No one ever tells us that we become better at SUPing when we stop caring about falling into the water.

I don't see a point taking this discussion any further and saying that we should not be afraid to fail (oh wait, I just did...). Actually, I know that I haven't said anything new which you didn't know before. You just need to start living this way instead of just knowing the theory. As I say, geography teachers should be the ones who traveled all the world but not the ones who studied the map on their room's wall.

So what's the point of this post?

I just wanted to show you this freaking amazing photo of mine. Isn't it miraculous?

Sort:  

Nice post. Have a nice day. 😀

"I would prefer even to fail with honor than win by cheating." -Sophocles Great post...and amazing photo ^_^

@writingamigo All of us were born essentially fearless; not altogether, as fear will cause us to pay attention. Fear is like fire: a great servant but a horrible master. Fear is one of those emotions that each individual should only play that card for a very short time and then choose other emotions. It is the same with anger.

We came into this world as the most helpless of all living creatures. We were totally dependent on others for our survival. We were taught how to talk, intercommunicate with others, how to walk, how to feed ourselves, and how to defecate in a place other than our diapers. My did we ever commit a plethora of mistakes to arrive at the possibility of becoming a Junior Explorer. It was a good thing that our heads were soft and our gluteus was padded to the maximus.

Suddenly, we heard contradicting messages and we started to become afraid to fail. Reclaim your inner child and your original processes. Be well.

These are wise words @aedroberts, thank you! I am certainly doing my best to not be afraid of anything, but it is sometimes harder to say than do! I also hope you are living the same way you wrote the reply as well!

People bought into Plato @writingamigo Our emotions are meant to work in harmony with our minds; not one or the other. It is sub-moronic for someone to tell another human being, "Don't be so emotional." We should look to utilize our emotions as a resource. Emotions are what drives our dreams. Please look at my profile and go to my website and look around. You don't have to buy anything. Just get a feel for what I have discovered.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87