It Scares Me To Do Little And Earn A Lot

in #philosophy6 years ago

Today I woke up and realized that I have fulfilled all my goals for this year and I have enough money to not worry about money. At least for a week or so. And I also realized how scary that feeling is. I mean, after a while I am feeling completely free again and I don't have to go into slavery to survive. And well, that is hard. Without slavery, I actually have to think how to spend my time. I actually have to replace the thoughts of money with some useful and interesting thoughts. And that, my friends, is not an easy task.

On top of that, I realized that I don't have to work a lot to earn as much as I want. I could even say that I earn passively for the last couple of weeks. I know it is all only a momentary phase and I will get back to slavery after the New Year, but I want to take my time and realized as much as I can during this lovely and scary period of complete freedom and calmness.

At the moment, I don't need a single thing from life. I enjoy it the way it is. It feels so damn good, people. I was never high in my life, but I guess that's how it feels. That is my kind of natural high.

And still, I am scared. I am scared that I don't work all day and get what I need. I am scared that I have too much free time. It is horrible, isn't it? Our social norms are so deep inside of our brains that it scares us to be free because no one else is free to us. And I know this feeling will pass and I will get back to working again. I know it will. I know that I am not yet strong enough to fight against the whole social bubble. However, even a minute of complete freedom is worth a fortune.

So, please, take a day or two and fall in love with the freedrom. Stop doing stuff, stop working, and just observe yourself. Observe your thoughts than you don't need a thing. What do you need then? Knowledge? Social status? Power? More money? Shiny things? Wisdom?

As for me, I just want to keep on writing. I would have never approved this dream of writing when I was just a kid I believe. I would say something like "It is a stupid thing to fall in love with, future Writingamigo. You have to aim for something bigger." However, that something bigger is hiding behind the empty sheets of paper which I have to decode with letters and words. That is my ultimate freedom - to know what to write and to have time to write it.

Sort:  

People have been raised, indoctrinated by 12 years of govern-cement school to be a good little worker drone. And without that work, they will drug or alcohol themselves to death.

What we do need is meaningful work. But, that does not have to earn money, if you already have enough money.

The few people that escape the govern-cement indoctrination system are usually entrepreneurs. And they are always look for ways to do things better, to fill a role that isn't being filled.

This is a big reason why lottery winners are usually broke within 5 years.

Yes, that is true and that is also super sad. However, it looks like the world needs worker drones to survive. I mean, who would do all the hard work if everyone was thinking about better things? haha

Well, everyone needs to make food, and we all seem to do it, every day.
The yard needs maintaining, and many find time to do that.
There are all kinds of things that need doing and maintaining.

Robots will take over all the repetitive tasks.
And, either put everyone out of work, or free everyone to do more interesting things.

I believe, in the future, most people will be far more balanced. Most will spend a bit of their day gardening. Even if they are a high paid programmer.

An awesome post @writingamiogo. I have experienced that feeling myself for short moments here and there and it is definitely a strange feeling to be free and yet trapped by conventionality, social norms and the strange feeling of not knowing how to be free when the opportunity arises. The emotional attachment to modern society that has been 'educated' into us can be a powerful and debilitating thing. :(

You sound like you are in a good place, my friend and I'm really happy for you. Enjoy it...while it lasts. :)

Thanks man! And yes, it is definitely a strange feeling. However, good thing is that society is strong enough to make you forget those moments while you are slavering for it so that you wouldn't feel depressed lol

Keep flying, free bird. May these spaces of freedom in time get more and more frequent for you.

I hope so, puravidaville! Thanks!

I slave a lot, but any time I have a minute of freedom I run with it. I'm happy for you and I hope things go the way you want them to 😊

Yeah, that is the best thing we can do, enjoy those moments to the fullest!

Take advantage of it, learn a new language, practice sports, read books, share your earnings with those who need them, simply enjoy free time but investing in personal development. I hope to say the same as you, in a couple of months

I have always loved your writing @writingamigo! Its funny how when we get to a place where we could find contentment, our minds want to convince us otherwise. There always seems to be a voice in the back telling us that there should be more, more time, energy, resources, money, just a constant go, go, go! It's a real test to our individual abilities to sit in stillness but when you can you really reap the most rewards, the ultimate high. And in my opinion I'd rather be pursuing what genuinely fulfils me than choosing a life that just fits as a cog in the machine, a slave to the man. And don't forget there is always ebbs and flows to life, just ride it out with the least resistance and enjoy the ride! Big love my friend. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28