Do you believe Time is a Dimesion?

in #philosophy7 years ago

imageIn my opinion time is the 4th dimesion. I have heard several takes on this subject, but the one that connects most with me is that we are 3 dimesional objects that live inside the unstoppable, unexplainable neverending dimesion of Time. What is time if not a dimesion? You cannot see time other than with man made sundials we call clocks. You cannot touch time, can you? But we know it's happening, right now and always time is moving. A race with time is a little unfair when speed is based off the amount of time it takes to get from one 3 dimesional space to another.

There is the old saying "In the beginning of time" but what really is that? Science says our universe was created by some Big Bang. Is this when time started? Or did it exist before, and if it did was it the same speed or have the same meaning? Has time evolved? According to different theories you can change the speed of time through gravity and perspective. Slow it down or even speed it up but never reverse it. Can time be manipulated? We can manipulate the 3rd dimesion, so why not the 4th? If time can be altered by the amount of gravity it's around, what happens to it inside of a black hole where we believe gravity becomes So heavy that not even light itself can escape it's event horizon.
image

How can you truly measure something that has no beginning and no end that we know of. This is more a story of questions that may never be answered but please give me your ideas, facts and opinions. The more perspectives the better. I am hungry for this knowledge let's open our minds and expand each other.

Sort:  

These are some of the greatest questions to ask! In my opinion, time is a dimension too. I work in medical physics and we routinely use time as a dimension whether as an axis on a plot or an experimental variable.

What's more, time is relative. The passage of time as we think of it is a human construct that only really makes sense on this planet and under typical conditions. When things speed up enough for relativistic effects to occur, things get weird!

As for when time began? I'd like to think that it was before the big bang. If an incredible amount of energy created all the matter that we see today, that energy had to come from somewhere and that somewhere must have existed before the big bang. And therefore that somewhere had age in the same sense that we think about aging now... Therefore time...

What just happened? I blacked out there for a second! Great post... I think?

I am so happy right now. Thank you for the beautiful insight. And yes great post. Also like you said we understand time under our typical conditions.. I want to know what happens when those conditions are change. Thank you again

I agree I think Time Is a dimension. Gravity Is just a theory It has not been proven.

Yes!! It is so true! I love these clips. Thank you so much for sharing.

excuse while I tend to my existential crisis. Great post. I wish I had answers for your questions. I do believe that time is the fourth dimension. But what governs the laws of the 4th? the 5th?

Yes yes yes!! What does govern these laws? And just like our man made laws how much can these laws be bent and broke? Thank you brother

Congratulations @seanmartin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Yes!! Love that you wrote about time!! 😂 😂 😂

Thank you for sharing it my brother. You know me i had too haha.

I also think time is some kind of a dimension but I also think that dimension is not linear. More like some kind of a spiral. But maybe we can not make any form out of it at all. Bur I talk about a spiral because as I dream a lot for what happens the next day or even more later on. It´s usually stuff that I do not need to know and do not add anything to my life. I even dream the film that they show in television the next evening or something a friend will tell me about but isn´t important for me in any way, even a front page of a magasine that hasn´t been published yet. It´s just as I have some kind of a sensor into the time dimension while I sleep. But it´s never of any importance. That can be a turn off ;) Why am I not dreaming the about the next lottery numbers? ;) Sometimes I have wondered about it and asked my self why, or is there a meaning behind it but I always come to the conclution that no, there is no meaning. I just have a sensor into the time dimension. But time is such an interesting topic to wonder about. Then the blackhole theories are always changing so I don´t know if gravity has anything to do with time. But thank you for your interesting topic in your writings. I´m following for more ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98