Very Philosophy - Steemit Squabbles, Jealousy & Payouts

in #philosophy7 years ago

Oh that sounds so serious and maybe it is, or possibly not??? 

The Steem price rise has been meteoric over the last couple of months and we are being thrust right back into the days of squabbling and dissatisfaction. Well, Steemit is a community, and that's what people do, squabble. (I like that word, I may have to use it more frequently.)


"Money is the root of all evil"

Trite but true (and that phrase is also trite but true). Jealousy! Yes! Perception of unfairness, yes! For the most part the trending posts are quite terrible and they make money I covet. (Another cool word.) Of course I am better. Of course. Seriously, yes really.

Aaaaah life

Life is fair. Where have you heard that before? Exactly. Do you have a voice? You can complain, or squabble. I think (here is the philosophy part, in case you miss it) that's a good thing. Constant discussions and squabbles can lead to change. Or maybe we only think they do, considering we are discussing the issues which inflamed us ten months ago when I began my Steemit journey.


Me
Now for the real philosophy bit. I was thinking a little this morning after getting sucked in by the vortex of yet another squabble. Steemit funds have recently helped me tremendously. Wouldn't be nice to have more? (greed creeps in). Why are those other people better then me. Surely I've paid my dues?  Then the next voice (I have a few, sometimes it's entertaining) pipes up. Look what you have, created from nothing. What makes me any better than those other people? 

This may possibly be the reason I am poor, or am I?

I simply can't get worked up by the differences between myself and the high earners. Could this signify a lack of drive? I'm not sure, I've stuck by everything I've set my mind to do, so I think my goals are not the same as others. I have a good marriage, a fantastic relationship with my kids and a couple of amazing  friends. I get on with my family, my parents and I even like my daughter's boyfriend. That feels quite rich to me.


Steemit makes me happy

I share what I enjoy when I want to and get a few needed bucks. I can't sacrifice this feeling for the feeling of jealousy. Once, many years ago I was jealous of someone. She was my own age and everything she had was just better. Better hair, a better figure, more worldly possessions, an easier life. Though my life was pretty good too. Whilst I was in the throes of jealousy, her husband was arrested for fraud and she left town. We stayed in touch an actually she was a pretty awesome woman. She had a very difficult time for many years. Her husband was released from jail and she went back to him. They are doing well again. This time I am so happy for them. The grass is not greener on the other side.

For me, going with the flow works. I don't like the way jealousy feels. I don't enjoy squabbling. This approach is not for everybody and we need fighters. We need those who continually nudge us back in the right direction. I admire that. And well, that is that...very philosophy.

Namaste

Thank you for reading! Please follow me @onetree

(images: pixabay)

Sort:  

Is money the root of all things evil? Or is it a mechanism to entice technological evolution. Does it keep society passive and driven or is it unnecessary?

Aaaaah...very philosophy! Questions to keep us up at night.

Money is not the root of all evil. The LOVE of money is the root of all evil :)

Thank you for that correction! And so true :)

I still enjoy steemit so much, but I also can't accept some low quality (in my opinion) posts gained lots of votes from a community he joined (or because of the person's steem power). It is just a kind of personal opinion. Thank you for sharing @onetree

I think eventually the quality of posts will sort themselves out.

I used to think money was the root of all evil. Then I realized money and evil are both human constructs. But yeah, we have collectively given money all its power through our trust in it, more trust than we put in human beings. And so it has power over us. No need to feel guilt about making more of it, as long as you don't have to break any of your principles in the process.

I like to open up channels for abundance (including money) to flow towards me. Basically I accept money for almost anything that I do without expecting it. And then I just do what I do and more and more of it seems to be flowing me way. That is nice because I can liberate power from money when it enters my hands, I pass it on to people who deserve it. X-D

Beautifully put! If we can only learn to SHARE as a species, we would soon realise there is enough for all. How many thousands of years would that take?

Under the right conditions, it could take a few years. Under the wrong conditions, it will never change. It seems pretty clear to me that we are caught in between. I just finished up post about why you should be optimistic about it. Check it out if you are so inclined.

Jealousy is one way to describe the feelings of those who squabble about rewards. Trying to fight for more fairness is another way. I'm sure some may just be jealous, but I can assure you I do my best to fight for fairness for us all and foremost for the new users Steemit requires to become a relevant social network. Power and rewards are in the hands of a few, the early adopters in the community mainly. When we want to grow the Steemit community to millions of users, the community need to give all those new users an incentive, give them the ability to earn some relevant rewards. There will always be differences between high and low post rewards, and there will always be something that may not be fair, but when currently newbies get 0 to a couple of ct on a post and the trending page posts get 100s to 1000s of $, I predict we will not see an increase of active users to 100s thousands and more. I predict many newbies will after some time turn their back to Steemit. And don't forget all those who cannot be classified as a newbie but have low SP (most of us), when eg 6 months working your butt of spending hours and hours each single day with the community and it does not start paying some decent rewards, I predict they will also walk away. Steemit will continue to stay small and irrelevant in the world of social networks. At some point in time, the market will realise this, what will result in Steem value going down to rock bottom, maybe absolute zero and exchanges will start de-listing Steem. Then everybody who is now part of this community lost, at least from time and financial value point of view. We may have gained other things, like new friends or something else, but that are 'currencies' you can also gain on any other social media where money is not part of the service.

I totally agree with you, and I do admire those that fight for a better way. Steemit is very new and has a lot of growing pains. I doubt very much that current levels of dissatisfaction are disastrous for Steemit. There is a lot of work involved if you "Steemit seriously". But we can never guarantee outcomes. I wish you the best of luck. :)

Excellent post as always @onetree. Thank you and much love <3

Thank you so much @reikiforest namaste

Nice post, jealousy is just a week emotion
check my post https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@digital-entrep/my-first-post
upvote and follow, if you don't I would not to be jealous :)

hahahaha

Very good post, @onetree. I think i've missed most of these squabbles as i'm stuck posting photographs of my travels and random shots.

Teething pains as the user base grows... interesting times.

Funny thing that...when you are so busy working you don't have time for drama! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36