You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where is My Mind? A Heroic Dose (PIII)

in #philosophy7 years ago

I probably wont get tired of reading psilocybin trip entries till i go on one.
but I think the common experience in every trip is always the fear that the altered state will persist forever. It even happens in lucid dreams and you get scared you wouldnt make it back to normal reality.

I think the chattering mind consistently interpret the world to us. without it, we would be aware of everything but not be able to interpret them. Words help us make meaning of the world. While meditation seeks to close down the automatic chatter and make it consciously controlled, I think substances like mushroom just shut it down immediately and temporarily. I want to believe advance state of meditation will help you experience the profoundity of the no thought state but you will be able to activate the chatter at will.

Sort:  

I think the common experience in every trip is always the fear that the altered state will persist forever.

That's a good point and I agree. I also agree with what you said about meditation - I see it in the same way.

I often wonder what the long term meditation practitioners experience. I have read stories on monks trying psychedelic drugs like acid and stating that meditation is better lol. I have had some interesting meditation experiences but not ones that could be compared to psychedelics haha.

lol @ monks claiming psychedelics cant be compared with meditation, well, maybe it's true tho but after years of meditating on and off, I can say I have better control over my instincts and a few other things but it's hard to say I have experienced anything particularly interesting.. I would love to read from long term practitioners too but I think most of them embellish their meditation stories too much especially when you're reading from a blog online. lol

yeah you might be right. I don't doubt the power of the mind though. Especially for those that dedicate their lives to meditating like monks do. Meditating for hours on end each and everyday must have some affect. Maybe their minds have just gone insane from lack of stimulus hahaha ;)

Lol. I dont doubt the power of the mind too but going insane due to lack of stimulus is a bit funny.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.40
ETH 2525.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47