Could Philosophical Counselling Be The New Psychotherapy?

in #philosophy8 years ago

Thousands of years of philosophical studies can help everyday folk come to terms with their practical difficulties, and the number of people turning to philosophical counsellors is growing.

In philosophy there are entire fields of moral issues that allow us to navigate the stormy weathers of life. I believe Aristotle was the first true thinker who advocated the qualities of what a "good life" is. Most of Aristole's lessons arise within a normal therapy session anyway.

But this is still a relatively new field and to find a philosophical counsellor can be tough gig. The NCPA lists around 300 counsellors currently. A lot of these are younger philosophers who wish to put their academics skills to the test, and they can charge up to $100 per hour.

This young niche group seem to arise from a growing awareness of how philosophy can be applied to future worlds like bioethics, AI and the perenial government surveillance.

So, it seems philosophy is not just appearing within counseling, but within visions of the future too.

@mindhunter

Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

I want to start a business being an integrity consultant. Have a moral dillema? Call me and I will help you sort it out so that it's fair for both parties. My bf said I underestimate people and none of them want integrity though... What do you guys think?

Empathy and loyalty are my favourite 2! (with loyalty implying honesty!)- Good luck handling that bf of yours @mscleverclogs :)

this, very well, may be the most critical tool to our survival.

I know it sounds strange to say this - but I think you might be right!

I hope the human intelligence survives long enough to eventually find it :)

A new perspective, (actually an old perspective), but new to me. Great post! It gives one a lot to consider. ☆☆☆☆☆

I would love one of those $100 an hour roles - and I know a lot of philosophical Steemers would too!

(your my favorite comment of this thread so far @michaeltobiersk Thank you.)

I must admit this would be a dream job for me!!

Me too! Though I dropped out of my philosophy degree in the 90s, switched to physics and then dropped out of that too! So, I'm clearly qualified.

This is weird, but I did chemistry, abandoned it for philosophy, then went back to chemistry again and completed that! Mad Scotsman!!

I'm from Liverpool-nuff said. Ended up with a law degree-nuff said.

Liverpool is a great town. The Scots love the Scousers!!

I didn't know that. Is it because the rest of England finds us even more gob-shitey than the Scots?
I never go there anymore because all my old relics passed away, mainly sweet old great aunts. I live daan sa-uf now.

wait until the government starts regulating who can practice philosophy.

The nanny state always catches up :(

(to regulate any future technology to death!)

...just look at how they are corralling Bitcoin!!

His work was heavily featured in The Matrix movies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59005.68
ETH 2516.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48