Do You Know the Origin of Love?

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

Over 2,400 years ago, Plato came up with one of the most progressive theories behind why people fall in love.


Art by Xaviera Lopez.


Included in his philosophical text, the Symposium, is a soliloquy from Aristophanes: The Origin of Love. In this strange soliloquy describing the mythological history of love, Aristophanes states that humans used to look very different than they do now!

“Primeval man was round, his back and sides forming a circle; and he had four hands and four feet, one head with two faces, looking opposite ways, set on a round neck and precisely alike… He could walk upright as men now do, backwards or forwards as he pleased, and he could also roll over and over at a great pace, turning on his four hands and four feet, eight in all, like tumblers going over and over with their legs in the air; this was when he wanted to run fast.”


Art by Xaviera Lopez.


AllThatsStrange.com gives a great description of these strange, fused humans, describing them as having three sexes, not two as we have today. Some sexes were male in both halves, some were female in both, and others were mixed. The male halves were called The Children of the Sun, the female halves The Children of the Earth, and those who were mixed The Children of the Moon.

These people were notoriously fierce and caused trouble for the Gods. In retaliation, the Gods decided the best way to punish the people would be to split them in half, dooming them to walk the earth forever searching for their other piece. Male searching for male, female searching for female, and male and female searching for each other.

“After the division the two parts of man, each desiring his other half, came together, and throwing their arms about one another, entwined in mutual embraces, longing to grow into one.”


Art by Xaviera Lopez.


This story was immortalized forever in the 2001 cult rock musical HEDWIG AND THE ANGRY INCH, about a transgender punk-rock girl from East Berlin, with the iconic song The Origin of Love. Watch the music video below!



The Origin Of Love Lyrics

When the earth was still flat,

And the clouds made of fire,

And mountains stretched up to the sky,

Sometimes higher,

Folks roamed the earth

Like big rolling kegs.

They had two sets of arms.

They had two sets of legs.

They had two faces peering

Out of one giant head

So they could watch all around them

As they talked; while they read.

And they never knew nothing of love.

It was before the origin of love.

The origin of love

And there were three sexes then,

One that looked like two men

Glued up back to back,

Called the children of the sun.

And similar in shape and girth

Were the children of the earth.

They looked like two girls

Rolled up in one.

And the children of the moon

Were like a fork shoved on a spoon.

They were part sun, part earth

Part daughter, part son.

The origin of love

Now the gods grew quite scared

Of our strength and defiance

And Thor said,

"I'm gonna kill them all

With my hammer,

Like I killed the giants."

And Zeus said, "No,

You better let me

Use my lightening, like scissors,

Like I cut the legs off the whales

And dinosaurs into lizards."

Then he grabbed up some bolts

And he let out a laugh,

Said, "I'll split them right down the middle.

Gonna cut them right up in half."

And then storm clouds gathered above

Into great balls of fire

And then fire shot down

From the sky in bolts

Like shining blades

Of a knife.

And it ripped

Right through the flesh

Of the children of the sun

And the moon

And the earth.

And some Indian god

Sewed the wound up into a hole,

Pulled it round to our belly

To remind us of the price we pay.

And Osiris and the gods of the Nile

Gathered up a big storm

To blow a hurricane,

To scatter us away,

In a flood of wind and rain,

And a sea of tidal waves,

To wash us all away,

And if we don't behave

They'll cut us down again

And we'll be hopping round on one foot

And looking through one eye.

Last time I saw you

We had just split in two.

You were looking at me.

I was looking at you.

You had a way so familiar,

But I could not recognize,

Cause you had blood on your face;

I had blood in my eyes.

But I could swear by your expression

That the pain down in your soul

Was the same as the one down in mine.

That's the pain,

Cuts a straight line

Down through the heart;

We called it love.

So we wrapped our arms around each other,

Trying to shove ourselves back together.

We were making love,

Making love.

It was a cold dark evening,

Such a long time ago,

When by the mighty hand of Jove,

It was the sad story

How we became

Lonely two-legged creatures,

It's the story of

The origin of love.

That's the origin of love.



I can’t help but notice that it’s Valentines Day today, and so here’s my message to you:

Love is Love is Love is Love. Whoever your other half is.


Art by Xaviera Lopez.


break.jpg


Hi friend! Thanks for stopping by, I’m really glad you’re here!

I’m an artist, writer, and creative consultant based in the Pacific Northwest. I see steemit as an incredible asset to artists and creatives as a way to share their work and connect with like-minded people. You can check out my intro post, read more about the theatre projects I work on, or follow me! I’m especially interested in finding other performing artists on this site. If that’s you, please say hello! See you around the steemosphere! @lilyraabe


SS-pansies-EN.jpg




Sort:  

@LilyRaabe, you left out the part where they decay hopelessly and die one they split! at least, until the gods gave them genitals so that they could survive, haha.

Still a very enjoyable and educating read. Should point out, though, that it is The Symposium; I know some Classics scholars who would want to be sure the distinction is noted - not sure how they would feel about it being called a novella ^_^

Thank you for the share, Lily!

Haha, I figured I’d leave out the decay just for today (don’t want to scare the kids, lolol).

Oops, thanks for catching the “the” typo, fixed it! :) I’m not sure how they’d feel about it being called a novella either, lol, but figured I’d drop that in there just for fun hehe. Thanks for reading and stopping by!

I first heard about this story in college (freshman philosophy, if I remember correctly). Imagine my surprise when it popped up in a cheesy 80s movie (yes, it came out in the early 90s, but it screams 80s - LOL!) called, "The Butcher's Wife." Demi Moore tells the story to Jeff Daniels, who tells her it originated with Plato.

Speaking of movies, it's been far too long since I've seen Hedwig - I'd completely forgotten about that song. Thanks for the reminder. 😊

Love your message, and especially love your choice of gifs!

Ah, The Butchers Wife, I had forgotten about that movie! Great clip--sometimes I notice that this story pops up here and there when I’m least expecting it..I’ve always loved it..it’s a rather romantic explanation for the concept of soul mates. :) Thank you for showing the love and support! :)

You're very welcome, and right back atcha!

I love the Platonic dialogues! I took a history of Plato class back in college, and I love his ideas on morality, the good life, and especially his allegory of the cave. This creation myth I am less familiar with, but I love how Plato uses a combination of opposites to create reality as we know it. I also had never heard of this musical! I will have to check that out. Thanks for sharing an educational post on love on this rather commercial day ;)

Hey! Thanks for dropping by and reading as always. You’re so awesome. Plato is pretty darn neat--I also love the cave allegory for expanding your view of the world! He’s a thinker. ;) I think I love this myth because it justifies the concept of soul mates (which I’ve always found to be romantic, but rather unrealistic). Still, when I think about Plato, I start to buy in a little bit more. :)

This is not meant to in any way overlook your writing, but I CAN'T STOP LOOKING at those amazing GIFs! Whoaaa! Mesmerizing.

Love the video too, thanks for sharing :-)

I know, right? Xaviera Lopez kind of blows my mind with the stuff she is making. It’s so gorgeous! Just looking for excuses to post it, haha. :) Thanks for stopping by and taking a peek. See you.

This post has received a 68.97 % upvote from @sleeplesswhale thanks to: @lilyraabe.

In freshman year college we all had to take a western cannon class which mostly sounded pretty boring. Each one had a theme though and while many were war or philosophy based I chose the one on love. Best uni class decision I ever made. Had an amazing gay professor who threw his tie over his shoulder all the time and while everyone else was reading The Republic we got to read The Symposium. So I was prepared when I saw Hedwig.

Yessss. The Symposium over the The Republic any day. What a neat way to structure the classes, I like the idea of taking a theme! I would have chosen this one too. Thanks for stopping by and reading. :)

Yeah it was called the "Thematic Option" at USC and I really appreciated that they did it this way. If you have to be in a year long "classics" class at least give it an angle!

I imagine it really helps with student buy-in by keeping it relevant and interesting to the individual. Interesting. Thanks again for dropping by. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by LilyRaabe from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87