(IJCH) Something To Ponder - "The Simplest Things" (Mindfulness)

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

(IJCH) Something To Ponder - "The Simplest Things" (Mindfulness)

Source

IJCH - Inside JaiChai's Head (Meaning: My Warped, Personal Opinions and Musings)

source

From the Author:

Salutations.

I am JaiChai.

And if I haven't had the pleasure of meeting you before, I'm delighted to make your acquaintance now.

Source

I invite you to interact with everyone, learn, and have as much fun as possible!

For my returning online friends, "It's always great to see you again!"

Doing Laundry By Foot

Source

I learned how surprisingly fast and easy doing laundry by foot was when I performed joint military ops in Asia over two decades ago.

So, when my washing machine broke 11 years ago, I didn't buy another one immediately.

Instead, as an "experiment", I opted to do my and my daughter's laundry by foot.

Eleven years later, I'm still doing laundry by foot.

Funny thing.

Just like putting a spit-shine on my boots, doing laundry provides me a peaceful, "mindfulness break"; especially when the noise from the hustle and bustle happening around me begins to grate on my nerves.

Source

For the benefit of all my fellow Steemians, I decided to submit the following suggestion:

Something To Ponder - "The Simplest Things" (Mindfulness)

Source

Any activity, every moment can provide a soul-feeding "mindfulness break"...

Source

Parting Shot

"Look past the surface and you'll see so much more..."

![](eye.gif
Source

By JaiChai

Really Appreciate You Stopping By.

Truly hope to see you again!

And if you liked my post, kindly Upvote, Comment, Follow, and ReSteem.

(The above post an updated version of: hhttps://steemit.com/philosophy/@jaichai/ijch-quote-to-ponder-the-simplest-things)

About the Author

Source

Believing that school was too boring, he dropped out of High School early; only to earn an AA, BS and MBA in less than 4 years much later in life – while working full-time as a Navy/Marine Corps Medic.

In spite of a fear of heights and deep water, he performed high altitude, free-fall parachute jumps and hazardous diving ops in deep, open ocean water.

AM490.jpg

After 24 years of active duty, he retired in Asia.

Since then, he's been a full-time, single papa and actively pursuing his varied passions (Writing, Disruptive Technology, Computer Science and Cryptocurrency - plus more hobbies too boring or bizarre for most folk).

He lives on an island paradise with his teenage daughter, longtime girlfriend and three dogs.

Source

busy animated gif.gif
Source

(More articles by JaiChai can be found on the Busy.org website. Use this link to visit Busy.org. Better yet, come join the Busy.org community!)


CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

Animated Banner Created By @zord189 [Creatives]

asapers.png
("Join the A.S.A.P.ers Discord Channel")

jc17.jpg
Source

"My mind was a terrible thing to waste..." - JaiChai

Sort:  

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 99.2% Upvote. Send 0.5 SBD or STEEM to @steemvote

I love that!! You are so spot on, finding the joy in those simple things and doing them in a special unique way with joy, is the secret of real happiness :D

That is a great point we need sometimes to just turn off all that stuff on the outside.

HaHa! I like your attitude on that. Doing laundry by foot, what a good suggestion. This takes all kinds of thoughts with it. First one coming up is: If I would decide on doing laundry by labor I'd have to reduce my closet so much so that I wouldn't be afraid of the work laying ahead. I would take care of my clothes much more as to keep them tidy and I would repair it more often. Which is good as it safes resources. The reason not deciding for it is my climate. I would have to spend hours and hours on washing clothes and thick ones, wollen ones and heavy ones.
So I stick to my laundry machine but do behave in a way not to put too much emphasis on buying new clothes too often. I love my dresses and I buy them mostly second hand.

I decided on not using a microwave, no electric mixer and no coffee machine. I grind the coffee with an old fashioned wooden grinder, I do the dough by hand and I warm up things on the stove or eat the meals cold. Making dough is quite some labor work and it's a meditative one. Cooking as well. I have plenty of time doing that as I decided to work little hours a week.

It's a decision on life style which gives one more freedom in not chasing so much money but having more relaxed times and leading a social life where one has an ear for those who are stressed out.

Good going, @erh.germany! I have a simple life, but I'm lazy no dough-making for me :)

simplicity is key. The simpler my life the better. Possessions are nice but with them comes a lot of responsibilities ;-)

Too many people are owned by their possessions...

Namaste, JaiChai

Wow that brings back memories. When I was a child my mother did all our laundry by hand (not foot!). We were six children. Many months in winter clothes out on the line would freeze and become stiff with ice.
I do find that simple chores, like floor washing and sweeping, clear the mind. But perhaps not as many chores as my mother had :)

Our loves are very short and few opportunities, any chance we get we have to utilize

Nice article, friend! :-)

Thank you.

Namaste, JaiChai

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05