You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why do we fight to change the world?

in #philosophy8 years ago

There should always be a balance between the greater goal, one's life work - promoting liberty, let's say, and ones life and comfort. Nothing wrong with enjoying yourself, while always keeping in mind and working towards your mission.

If the goal is making $$$ quick, laser focus can be useful. A goal like a more free world is somewhat different. Being too focused solely on it has the risk of loosing touch, becoming too self-righteous or self-important. Or even burning out. Taking a break, enjoying a good meal some nice wine, traveling or doing nothing helps.

To promote freedom, one must be constantly in touch with others to give them the right message, the one they are ready to receive, a little at a time. Its something for the long term. Don't accept reality, but don't expect to change it over night.

I don't look at people as looking for profit, but I do agree with Von Misses that they want to increase satisfaction, and that satisfaction is subjective to each one. Ignoring subjectivity of preference is at the root of many problems in our world, mostly by people who want to impose the right preference - theirs.

I try to communicate to people, promote liberty, but to be hones with myself, I am not willing to completely sacrifice my life for it. I only have the one, after all. And these sacrifices, sadly, do little good, as they won't achieve much in the short term.

For most people, to live their life while trying to make a little difference is the best they can do. Anyway, I am too pretty to go to jail, so I will keep paying taxes and obeying laws I disagree with, while advocating against them.

What more people can do is write down views and thought in order to clarify them. It is amazing, the cognitive dissonance of some people. Only when I started writing things down and rereading after some time, did I realize I held contradictory views at the same time. It helped. Also the occasional feedback does not hurt.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13