You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychological Egoism: Selfishly Improving the World Around You

in #philosophy6 years ago

if we're going to be selfish anyways (which I think is a fairly consistent trait in humans), far better to be selfishly helpful to others than selfishly hurtful. Which i think of as (or hope for) the world moving from a competitive framework to a co-operative one.

Sort:  

I think the idea of self-interested over "selfish" which specifically excludes caring about others. Self-interested recognizes it's my responsibility to take care of me and no one else has that responsibility but me. Once I do that, I'm in a much better place to take care of others who for whatever reason are unable to take care of themselves.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97