Light bulb moments and the sands of time

in #philosophy6 years ago

Have you ever wondered where your life is going? Hmm, maybe what I mean is where your life is. Yes, that seems more accurate. I have for a while now I suppose. You know, in those times between everything else that life in the modern world fills our time with...I've wondered if changes may be required after reviewing my life and determining where it is.

We all make choices in life, most of which seem not to have much impact on the grand scheme of it, but in actual fact have massive repercussions over time. Consider living-location choices, relationship and financial choices, career decisions and lifestyle choices to name just a few; They all have huge impact upon our lives. Indeed, they combine sometimes conspiring together leading our lives in a particular direction, to a particular place...Where? Well, exactly where your life is right now...This moment, that's where. An example? Ok, sure...

Due to work commitments, the desire for a big promotion, the corner office and a car-parking space, Mr. Busy works hard. He arrives early, leaves late and works through his breaks rarely taking the time to eat properly. He grinds away at his desk 5 days a week then brings the overflow, that could wait until Monday, home to get the jump on the following week...He is rarely available to his family but he's working towards a better life for them so they should understand...

Mr. Busy doesn't realise it but he's making choices, decisions that will be impactful upon his life in the near, medium and long-term future. His health may suffer, his relationship with Mrs. Busy and the little rug-rat Busy's, his son and daughter too. He's never there for them, never 100% present in that moment, he puts on weight, get's diagnosed with type 2 diabetes and ages prematurely, maybe turning to alcohol or worse to provide some sort of release...All the while thinking that the most important thing is that promotion. The promotion will make everything ok, the hard work will be worth it when he gets that promotion...Well, Sorry Mr. Busy, but maybe not.

So...Here's me, (no, I am not surreptitiously trying to indicate I'm Mr. Busy) living a pretty good life. I have a great job with a lot of flexibility and autonomy, a reasonable income and a nice working environment. I'm good at it too. Respected, valued and well..You get the idea. I have a house, a couple of cars and some valuable significant relationships in my life. I holiday here and there, have some hobbies, a few good friends, reasonable health...Doesn't sound too bad I suppose. So why am I reviewing and determining my as is position and what changes could possibly be on the horizon?

At 48 years of age I'm starting to think about retirement...Well, Old age to be more specific. I don't obsess about it, and certainly am not some old and decrepit 48 year old. The opposite actually. I'm still out there getting after it, crushing it. And yet in 20 years I'll be 68...I think the person that doesn't forward-plan is simply asking for trouble. A little like Mr. Busy from before focusing his efforts on one goal and not the broader picture. And so I'm thinking about it, not just the future, but where I am now, and whether I am content or need to wring some more out of life so that I can truely say I design and create my ideal life, rather than living a default-life.

Don't confuse my potential now-needs as materialistic things either; That's not what I mean. Happiness, true happiness, can have far more value than a new iPhone...If you disagree then it's too late for you. Might as well end it all now. Go on...See if there's an App for that.

Anyway...The choices I make now will carry more weight moving forward. I'm not 20 years old with the ability to make a few mistakes with ample time to recover from them... I zig when I should have zagged now and maybe there goes my financial security in my older age. If I make an error of judgement and maybe my health suffers...Believe it or not a person doesn't generally recover as well from health related issues as well the older they get. So, the choices and decisions I take now are going to set me on the path for the future, just as they choices I make now affect the here and now.

I know a lot of people. Some very intelligent and savvy ones, and conversely, some incredibly ignorant ones and yet in speaking with them it's not always the intelligent ones who answer my initial question with anything really convincing. Have you wondered where your life is going, or indeed where it is...?

It's an important question and one every adult should be asking themselves. I don't mean adults my age necessarily either. I mean every adult, let's call it 18 years old plus huh? Have you assessed your life? Would you even know how to start and would you be satisfied with the resulting deductions? The great thing is it's not too late to start. It could get too late, but if you still have a pulse then you have the ability to affect your life positively. Not sweeping changes maybe, but changes nonetheless. Where will you start...if indeed you determine you need to in the first place.

Image source

Sort:  

I think it's healthy to keep assessing your life, to keep checking where you are now, if you're happy with that place etc. There's no specific set point like 'at 50, you evaluate'. No, you do so constantly, because that's the only way you survive, the way you don't fuck up. At least in my opinion.

I've said it before and I'll say it again. You are far from old. It's a mental thing too and from what I've seen of you, you don't seem that old to me :P

The opposite actually. I'm still out there getting after it, crushing it.

Precisely.

And yeah, in 20 years you'll be 68. Okay, but that's just math. 20 years is a lot of time. And I don't know if you should be worried about it. I mean I'll be almost 40 in 20 years...can you imagine? :O

I think you're a cool dude, just for the record. but other than that, I think it's good you're evaluating your life. As I said, healthy. And I hope you make whatever changes you deem necessary for your well being. You have the guts, I think, to do that and not a lot of people do...many prefer to wallow in it until it's too late.

To be honest I don't really feel old or anything, more that the clock is ticking on life in general. Getting the most out of life is critical for me and so I evaluate where I am and whether I am content with that or not.

Thanks for you're nice comments. You're cool too.

Well, knowing you - at least a little bit - I'm pretty sure you're going to do what's good for you, no matter how scary :) If you're not content, that is. :D
But I hope you are.

and thank you!

Seriously I have no idea what to do with my life. I am still confused and don't know what I really want. I know I am loosing time, but have no choice.

There's always choice and by not choosing either way you have made one...

Yes need to make some plans for later in life.

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.208 which ranks you at #2775 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 19 places in the last three days (old rank 2756).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 244 contributions, your post is ranked at #129.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 45.08% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79