What is Mindfulness and What It is Not

in #philosophy5 years ago (edited)

Mindfulness.jpg

So recently, I watched yet another video with a person who claims to be a Christian and believes that Mindfulness, is somehow occult. I wrote in the response section: "Dude, mindfulness is not some weird occult practice. It's just the same name for Transcendental Meditation aka TM, aka Mindfulness. And it's a practice that teaches you coherent thought.". It bothers me because the video was supposed to be about Brexit. And for this guy to slip that in at the end made me feel hoodwinked.

As a disabled veteran, I first became aware of it through Operation Warrior Wellness and the David Lynch Foundation. I found enough videos online to figure out how to do it without actually taking a class. So I am self taught. And it's helped me and a lot of Vets. Just because Andrew Drapper, (the man I disagreed with in the video I watched) does't understand what it is exactly doesn't make it bad. I noticed he immediately went into criticising Woxon and transgender crap because there is nothing really bad about Mindfulness.

It's like doing push ups. Do that and your chest gets stronger. Practice TM aka Mindfulness and you strengthen your mind. Hence, I do not get angry like I used to when I was experiencing boarderline PTSD issues. The reason they are calling it mindfulness is that Transcendental Meditation is a copyrighted exercise. Mindfulness is basically a way to teach it without getting sued. And the funny thing about Mr Drapper's fear of Mindfulness is that in the 9 years I've been doing it, I've gone from mostly liberal to mostly conservative. And well, I never liked all that transgender stuff anyway. And I do not I know how went directly from Mindfulness to transgenderism. Must be his fear based mindset and beliefs. After practicing Mindfulness for 9 years it's clearer to see how a lot of people operate out of ego. So, I think part of the process of mindfulness is allowing your logical mind to become superior to your ego mind. Hence, you make better decisions and do not allow you ego to warp your emotions.


While Mindfulness does have similarities to Buddist meditation practices, the practice is more akin to doing push ups and getting a stronger body than it is practicing a religion. But, for those filled with ego and fear, I can see how images like this freak them out. Seems a bit Eurocentric to me, but well, I can't hate someone for being afraid.

The best effect I've noticed using TM is that I tend to handle things in a more logical fashion. Mr Drapper objected to Mindfulness being taught in schools in the UK. This tells me that if they are teaching this in schools in the UK, that when these people get into power, no Globalist will be able to rise up against the UK as the people practicing this will remain calm in the face of overt totalitarianism. Technically mindfulness, it is not Buddist. A form of meditation is used by them. But the form I practice does have a history in ancient Indian Yoga. However, it does not require anyone to believe anything. It's a mental physical exercise that's all. The worst people I've ever met all tell me TM is "of Satan". And they are always the first people to lose their cool, flake on appointments, and do horrible things to other people. At least, that has been my experience. To date, I've helped two suicidal Disabled Veterans with the Mindfulness technique. And they still use it. And they are still alive.


The US Military has been using Mindfulness to help their troops and Veterans cope with stress and increase performance. And they also specifically us it to promote healing after traumatic experiences. Of course, it never hurts to be cautious when learning something that involves the mind. As you can see in the image above, practicing sitting in a chair is preferred to the Eastern method of sitting in an uncomfortable position on the floor. I once attended a Buddist Meditation Workshop with a girl friend. And I didn't like their approach at all. Plus, well, they were trying to sell the religion along with the technique. I wasn't buying. But, I have nothing against them at all. I prefer to allow Mindfulness to be experienced as my own practice every day free of a religion. It's simply a good thing to do for yourself every day like if you were to exercise every morning.

Mindfulness clears up the clutter by creating coherent thought. My hypothesis on it is that when you find a mantra to repeat, the vibration from your voice uttering that mantra vibrates you pineal gland. And the pineal gland releases melatonin. I cannot prove this, but becoming mellower is something everyone who knows me says about me. I used to fly off the handle a lot and I had serious anger issues. Now, I am considered cool as a cucumber and I rarely get angry. And when I do, it's never very bad and I cool off quickly. Also, my creativity and focus at work has flourished since I started this exercise.


Director David Lynch also teaches a form of Mindfulness to Disabled Veterans and those in need around the world with his David Lynch Foundation. "Meditation is money in the bank for the creative professional." is something I heard Lynch say that got me interesting in learning mindfulness.

Personally, I have experienced what I would call religious experiences while in deep meditation. And while I have read books by Stuart Wilde, Greg Braden, and other metaphysical authors, I advise caution to anyone learning meditation through some sort of self-proclaimed guru. Learn techniques from people, sure. But, be your own person and continue believing in what you always believed in. And never give into cult-like behavior.

Light Rays.jpg

PostLogoTag 0001.png

Source Material: http://www.dodlive.mil/2016/01/08/what-you-need-to-know-about-mindfulness-meditation/

Sort:  

I'll have to check out this Mindfulness thing. It must be really healthy for the mind if it can help with PTSD issues. Upvoted and resteemed.

Yeah, read the article posted by the US Department of Defense. If they are recommending it, you know there's something to it. I learned by watching a few videos on YouTube. Just find a mantra that works for you. And do it every day in a quiet place for at least 20 minutes.

Curated for #informationwar (by @gregorypatrick)

Ways you can help the @informationwar

  • Upvote this comment.
  • Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP
  • Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13