How free are we truly, and how much of us is instinct and biology?

in #philosophy5 years ago

Ever since the beginning of life, the path of evolution has led every organism to obtain behavioural patterns that, after trial and error, seem to work better. Some are simple: don't walk alone and defenceless into your predator's lair. For better or for worse, we have developed something we call “common sense” and trusting it has done us well for millions of years. We’re still alive and thriving, aren’t we? We could say that our patterns of behaviour are good for the survival of our species. Or… wait… it has been good up until now!

How many species are already extinct? It’s fair to say that we have a smaller chance of walking into that path because we’re already so smart, observant and adaptable, especially since our technological achievements have come to rival the powers of nature itself. However, even though we have such power to adapt our environment to serve us, do we as well have the power to adapt ourselves according to our observations? We are still bound to our nature, both in physical form and in mind.

The human physical form can be changed, and there are pro-bionic groups of people who believe in artificially improving the human physique through technology. However, our mind is still a mystery to science which is being explored day to day. One of the parts of our mind that we are mostly unable to change is our instincts, our “common sense”, the behavioural patterns that have led us by the hand till this point in history.

The unconscious things we assume to be true and which lead us in every action that we take.

Let’s say you’re going from work to a meeting in an area near your home, but as you’re driving, you become distracted by an interview you’re listening to on the radio. You grab the key to your garage door and you suddenly realise that you’re home, and that there’s somewhere else you need to be. Sometime during your journey, your mind took over. This magical autopilot is also called “muscle memory”. This is a familiar action that you take without conscious thought because of frequent repetition.

The existence of muscle memory raises a strong worry: What else is my mind hiding from me? What do I do because my unconscious tells me to instead of doing it due to an actual choice of mine? An exercise I like to do that proves how much control my unconscious has over me is suddenly becoming “present”. I don’t stop what I’m doing, but I look around, think about where I am, why I’m here, and most of the time I realise that I had been moving partly out of preference and partly out of impulse, but in most of my actions, there were rarely actual conscious choices. For example, right now, all I have to do is think about my ideas, but the text writes itself because my hands are familiar with the position of every key on the keyboard. I don’t even notice it’s there until I think about it. I don’t even choose which words I’m going to say. There are only two thoughts coursing through my mind right now:

  • I think about the ideas I want to express and my body writes them on its own.
  • I read the text as I write it, and if it’s ok, I keep going. If it isn’t, I edit it.

My mind is completely in abstract mode. The writing part, the watching part, the listening-to-my-environment part, they are all outsourced to the autopilot. This does not only happen during creation activities but during most actions. Which step goes first when you get up and walk? You just walk, there is rarely anything conscious about it. Polyglots will probably have experienced an unconscious language slip at a certain point in their life: speaking Spanish to an English speaker and vice versa. You don’t even choose the language you speak most of the time, it just comes automatically because your brain simply knows (or thinks it knows) what is appropriate. The ideas that you speak are mostly the “appropriate ideas”, but what is appropriate? You don’t usually think about this, the ideas just come out in words. You might wander through the ideas you can express, and then suddenly one clicks. That “click” is the conscious decision, done by an experienced brain, and it is so quick that it is imperceptible by humans.

Don’t believe that last point? Here’s a short documentary about it:
https://www.rulu.co/episodes/mind-field-1x5/

If decisions are ultimately unconscious, only thought about after they happen, how can you be sure that you made them consciously and in full exercise of our freedom and will? If your actions are controlled by muscle memory. If your mind is unknowable even by yourself. If emotions arise without your control. Where do YOU start? What part is you, and what part is your body/your circumstance?

Sort:  



This post has been voted on by the SteemSTEM curation team and voting trail.

If you appreciate the work we are doing then consider voting us for witness by selecting stem.witness!

For additional information please join us on the SteemSTEM discord and to get to know the rest of the community!

However, even though we have such power to adapt our environment to serve us, do we as well have the power to adapt ourselves according to our observations?

That is a good question. We have evidence that we are destroying the planet and that we are somehow on marching on the top of a big cliff. Instead of slowing down, the human race seems in contrast to accelerate and is ready to fall... I am not to sure about where we are heading to, but I am feeling worried.

For the rest of the debate, I am afraid this is a bit too much of philosophy for me. I would simply say that this is my memory, my muscle memory, my body, etc. Therefore, I start the process no matter what. :)

PS: Feel free to consider using the following (standard) image syntax

 ![](link)

so that the images can also be nicely shown on steemstem.io.

In order to discover their true selves, people should spend more time thinking about how they are influenced by everything - just like the everyday muscle memory example in your post, i.e. a scientific POV - rather than how 'agentic' or free they are, which is a form of illusion and probably just promotes ignorance in the sense that it doesn't go much further than itself.

Exactly! 😊😊😊 I want to just explore myself and other things. It may be meaningless but at least I'll be entertained during the journey from life to death.

Posted using Partiko Android

In order to discover their true selves, people should spend more time thinking about how they are influenced by everything - just like the everyday muscle memory example in your post, i.e. a scientific POV - rather than how 'agentic' or free they are, which is a form of illusion and probably just promotes ignorance in the sense that it doesn't go much further than itself.

Loading...

Thanks for sharing this interesting post @cryptosharon.
When you explain the “experienced brain”, isn’t this the brain of yourself which is fed by previous repetitive thoughts, ideas and actions? So the experience of the brain comes from the actions, emotions, thoughts of the individual himself.

Doesn’t this mean that the “unconscious” is also part of the “conscious”? If these unconscious actions are done based on our previous actions on the same subject, why would this be a discussion about freedom?

I do understand though that because you don’t take a moment to think about your action, this feels like being taken over, but isnt it the mechanism we build ourselves what is taking over these tasks?

Very interesting to think about :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes. I think that's part of the point. Both the unconscious part and the conscious part are one and the same. The question I wanted to ask, and of which I'm going to do a follow-up, is: if most of what you think was given to you by circumstance and by the reactions to the past on your body's part, isn't it a bit logical to think about these impulses more as forces than as absolute laws that cannot be molded and played with?

Posted using Partiko Android

Well I think that depends on in which cases our unconscious part is triggered. I think this part is more getting triggered when decision making is not very difficult or things we somehow de-prioritize in our daily lives. Mostly because of the repetitiveness of these tasks maybe.

Of course I don’t know this scientifically :) but I think this unconscious part is not in place for things, events, actions having a higher importance. That’s why we still can be considered free in our actions. We still have the responsibility of our actions. Even if these actions are strongly influenced by past experiences.

Posted using Partiko iOS

That was precisely the point I wanted to make :) I wanted to approach certain decisions we take while being influenced by these impulses. Certain decisions that we decide are absolutely correct, but depending on the culture and circumstance, what is going to be considered "correct" is highly predictable. This is mostly traditions, customs, morals and certain behaviors that are simply said to be genetic or due to "the weather".

Haha yes! And here it is important to be able to “think outside the box”. You can be raised in within a certain culture, geographical region, religion but the potential to think in a more generic way is in each person I believe.

Still, maybe we live in a very “automated” way in our own world and never have a need to think about our decisions from a different perspective. But at a certain moment you can receive some “signals” to consider alternative decisions. Most people ignore these “signals” and keep doing what they used to do, but it is very important to stand still in those moments and think deeply about the decisions you are about to make. Difficult to explain and maybe easier to say this than actually doing it :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I might address some of your doubts tomorrow. I'll be reading this when I make the continuation. We'll see what I end up doing. Thank you for your observations. They are really valuable.

Posted using Partiko Android

Have you read 'Thinking Fast and Slow'? This would be a form of system one, or the fast system.. It's instinctive and emotional, often subconscious. Leaving our system two (logical, conscious) free to focus on other things. System one has many tricks up it's sleeves and includes many heuristics. Shortcuts.

Mental heuristics, where they come from, and the purposes they serve are fascinating. Many can be traced back as evolutionary tools to keep us safe in the predator filled world of our ancient beginnings.

Thing is.. we've advanced so far in such a short period of time that many of these heuristics can be not only useless, but dangerous. Or completely harmless. It depends.

I paraphrased way too much as many volumes of books have written on the subject but I wanted to leave a comment and engage... It's one of my favorite things to think about.

The mind is fascinating. At the same time it's a little disappointing sometimes as I discover my hard limitations. I also dislike the way the limitations of the mind shape society in ways people don't realise. I wish this were a more mainstream topic so that people could always be aware of their cognitive biases and misunderstandings. :)

I haven't read that book or series of books. I'll look it up on Goodreads tomorrow. Thank you for the recommendation.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

@cryptosharon You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

for me your content is very deep. I like the ideas how you put it into words. Every sentence is very interesting and make me feel worried because I can't put it into words what I wanted to tell. By reading it, it made me realise how ignorant am I in life. Over all it's wonderful, I just don't know how to express more from your ideas. I'm speechless.lol

Posted using Partiko Android

:) thank you so much

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99