Sort:  

Personally, I believe consistency and integrity are very important, and they tend to walk hand-in-hand. Being consistent is often an indicator of integrity... and people we perceive to have integrity typically are quite consistent and reliable.

Even on the simplest levels this matters... we go to restaurants because we can always rely on getting a good dinner there, not so much to those that are brilliant one day and possibly crap the next.

On a personal level... our consistency is one of the ways we can lead by example; and I find that consistency is a form of leading because people tend to gravitate towards it.

I can see that and it's an interesting way of looking at it. Thanks for sharing.

It's an interesting topic... I aspire to more consistency, but don't always manage to live up to my own expectations... and then my integrity is challenged because it becomes easy to point fingers at external factors when we get thrown off course... in what is often a very INconsistent world.

I prefer chaos and looking inside my socks
Consistency is not how I tease my rocks

I breed in crazy mental yeast
And regurgitate a verbal feast :P

I would imagine being consistently chaotic is it's own form of consistency. :)

Hi @clayboyn. This topics kinda hurts me.
I am one of those people who change ideas continuously, very vague, lack of focus.
I have been trying to not be harsh with myself about changing idea/opinion too much.
I don't think we have to be consistent no matter what.
It is all right to change.
There is no truth, there is no right and wrong.
Conditions and contingencies change.

We all change and the world is always changing, all we can do is our best to adapt to both. I'm mainly referring to consistency in sense of doing what you say and saying what you do. If you are going around telling people one thing and doing something else entirely, eventually they will think you are a fraud etc. It's about accepting ourselves and not feeling a need to hide from others. It isn't meant to hurt anyone, it's meant to help people realize that you don't have to be afraid to be authentic and accept yourself and it's also okay to admit when we're wrong.

@clayboyn, I do understand where you come from. People don't have that level of awareness.
We live in a world of appearance and advertising, I grow up and I'm yet not sure, whenever I am living in a theater and I'm being myself.
The struggle.

Good info!! We liked you’re post.

Sometimes I wonder if we share a brain- I have drafted a similar post, but I titled it "what people want from each other". I think I even used the word consistency for the concept. Anyway- I agree with you that walking the talk is important- if you say you're going to do something, do it. Give people a heads up when you can't. Don't be afraid to tell people the truth, no I can't do this or I have too much on my plate or I really don't want to do that. I try to live by my word, but im not always as successful as I'd like to be. I wonder what gets in the way of integrity- if poverty or other life events can possibly make someone less able to live up to their word temporarily or to never learn the habit. You talk about the consequences to both the individual and their relationship to other people, but I think we are also seeing this happen with society as a whole. In my work environment, I have learned to create contingency plans for when people don't follow through- and I'm not just talking the kids!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65074.63
ETH 2635.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83