You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughts on Death

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

I personally would not fear death if it wasn’t for me having family I feel would be sad without me. I don’t fear death at all, I fear the sadness my death would leave in those I love and love me. I fear not being around to love and guide my children, or my children’s children. Not being around to love and support my parents and siblings. Here is my thought about this fear of mine. should I prepare my family for my death to help them not mourn me as much? Should I make death more irrelevant to my children, for example, so that they don’t fear it as it is nothing we should concern ourselves with, since we can’t do anything about it really? I don’t want to make death so attractive that my children become daredevils, but I also don’t want them to fear it for themselves, or for me. I believe the answer is somewhere in between both extremes, as most things are. I say, let’s live our lives the best we can, and not worry about death, it’s either nothingness or heaven, win win the way I see it.

Sort:  

I think that's a healthy outlook on it personally. The only way to change the perception of things over time is to give examples to the rest of society. I suppose having honest conversations with children instead of telling them how and what they are 'supposed' to feel is the best approach in life. Who knows, I think we all just do the best we can and it will work out however it works out.

My thoughts exactly 👍🏻 I truly appreciate you sharing these ideas with us all. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64884.95
ETH 2619.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82