What Are People Really Afraid Of?

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

We live in a burdensome, demanding world which stresses all of us, but is there anything to be afraid of?


When we are scared of doing something, or of something happening, why are we scared of that thing?

Is it because of the bad feelings associated with that activity?
Or is it the discomfort we perceive we might experience if we were to go through with what we fear?
Death, for example.
No one can really prove whether or not Death is good or bad, but we are still afraid of it.
Why?
Because it would remove us from people and things that we love, or so we think, and so using our background knowledge we see a situation where we have those things away from us as bad. What can anyone else say about the subject.

Can we 'logically' prove that death is neither good nor bad?


Some people say it simply does not concern us, but surely we must be fear death or fear something?

For example, people have a fear of rats as they are known to spread disease and the Little Albert experiment empirically proved that some fears are innate; we are born with these fears.

John B. Watson, after observing children in the field, was interested in finding support for his notion that the reaction of children, whenever they heard loud noises, was prompted by fear. Furthermore, he reasoned that this fear was innate or due to an unconditioned response.

Fear of public humiliation, discrimination, or other forms of bullying.
It's causes come from a combination of environmental and genetic factors.

Is there anything to be afraid of in this world?
Let me know!

Sort:  

Im sorry
I spam
Please follow me @bolang
I just finished college, I have not been able to work for a while, need your support to be more advanced in steemit as a new lesson for me.
So the struggle is real. Please help me and help your pocket. The more you support me the less dependent on my government and the less I take out your pocket. It costs you nothing to hit such buttons and it will mean the world to me.

Yes. I think you can track every fear and anxiety eventually back to a fear of death.
'They won't like me [subtext: I'll be rejected, then I'll be alone and I'll die]'.
I really do think we can track every fear we have back to it.
I think it is probably the survival instinct working strongly in us at base.
And yet you are right, no-one knows if death is good or bad. We are just naturally primed to avoid it [unless something goes wrong].
Indeed, I've come to think that we exist beyond our bodies even in life [evidence based upon my experience] and that we probably return to some kind of energy form after death ... that we even try to get out of our bodies in lots of ways to seek that experience the incredible lightness of feeling freed and unencumbered [drugs etc].

I'm not really afraid of it anymore. In my late teens I nursed and sat with many old people to help them during dying. I could certainly feel when they were in the room after death and when I could no longer feel they were there and it always seemed to be a fairly finite length of time before I felt I could safely leave them.
I suspect our state after death is a pleasant one. I'm not sure what the purpose of being in a human body is. Maybe we are here to learn something. It is all postulation.

Children are beautifully free of the weight of death as a concept.
I remember my daughter [now 16 years old] at the age of about 2 or 3 watching Steve Irwin's program about his crocodiles and then suddenly he found one dead and sat astride it lamenting its death [I think crying] and the look of realisation and enlightenment on her face. And I thought, "ah, that time's over then."

I totally agree with you and morbidly, I'm really not afraid of dying. I just hate the pain and burden that will be generated from it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16