You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Left Academic Philosophy

in #philosophy6 years ago

Thank you so much for this article. You basically say all the things I thought when I left Sorbonne after my master's degree realizing philosophy of happiness was 1. not as interesting to teachers as pure metaphysics and that 2. I would be better off making it useful for other people by leaving the academy and becoming a yoga teacher (but that's a different story). I don't know about you but I felt most people studying philosophy had no idea of the struggle people were living on the outside. They thought they knew through books and articles but they were just talking about stuff they never experienced. It could be explained by the fact most of us were from a privileged family and never really had to work to pay our studies. Anyway, I also totally agree with you on the fact that metaphysics are seen as the purest thing to study and that the closer you get to the actual people, the dirtier it gets. Maybe we need another way of teaching philosophy, just like applied ethics does except with most of philosophy's subjects together with academic philosophy. Anyway, thanks for posting that ;) Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87