You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Philosophy vs philosophy - on writing (hardcore) philosophy and Steemit

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

Very glad to have you here @nobyeni!

I found you from the philosophy steemit.chat . That was being managed by someone who left only after a few days, never to return. And @mobbs is left there moderating it for spam. Unfortunately most of the humanities people don't stick around, they quit early when they don't see rewards. Seems odd, considering how their work often demands great toil for little reward, but they can't seem to extrapolate that on steemit.

I and 3 other people created a humanities group, called @steemdeepthink, modeled after steemSTEM, but it failed (although we still run our discord group), mostly due to the aforementioned reason: humanities writers disperse, they don't cohere or stick around.

Anyway, glad to have made a connection with you, I have followed you and I will be reading more of your stuff. You seem like a knowledgeable and interesting person. I've written some philosophy myself if you scroll down my blog.

Sort:  

Hi @alexander.alexis! Thank you so much for replying! It's great to make your acquaintance. I've been actually wondering about where all the humanities people are... I guess if that were my only passion, I would also have left Steemit already, seeing there are not many of them around to start good conversations in that specialty.
As a new member, it's also not easy to find your way around and find the people you might want to find. So I decided to give it some time. Looking forward to reading through your blog and I will look up @steemdeepthink - sounds like a very good initiative!
And yes, part of the problem is a lot of people in humanities seem very interested only in their own opinions, and not so much in conversations and growing of thought. So I'm not very surprised it failed. But perhaps it needs more time and some new people to join?
Thanks again for the comment, looking forward!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65355.38
ETH 2656.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87