You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The negotiable truth

in #philosophy7 years ago

"We have all likely padded our resume or made our job sound a little more exciting on a first date and we have been able to justify our words due to the context involved. We have been able to say things like it is expected to some degree, once I get the job I know I can learn, others do it, it is only a first date, nothing serious.

But is it serious when the lies get bigger and bigger and one's sales pitch is so divorced from reality one cannot even recognise themselves in the story? Perhaps this is just the new normal."

Nice play on words.

Honesty is an abstract principle today indeed.

It's like first date. We make ourselves look great to create a good first impression.

Then when the relationship forms and gets complacent, things start to fade. All the crap happens.

In that sense, we've been cheating since the start.

Sort:  

Yes, I agree with you. I wrote a post a long time ago about starting that starting from an authentic position will most likely lead to better relationships in the long-run as both people can 'know' what to expect going in. It seems counter-intuitive to most though as most have been taught an 'at any cost' mentality.

I guess for some, that first date is an outright charade. Complete lies and deception.

I spruce myself up for a good first date too, but everything I say is honest. Some just lie and act differently altogether. That's the line being crossed.

Hmm, i dont know. I mean, I totally get where you all are coming from, padding the resume and all. The thing is, it's totally natural. I mean if I'm on a first date and you aren't trying to impress me then it's definitely not going to work out.
First impressions are not the way you get to know someone. They werent even designed to be that way. Its like looking at the Mona Lisa... You are all like... Great pic. Later you find out a lot of it has to do with the golden ratio and what not.
I think a first date where someone told the whole truth would be a terrible first date. When someone stretches the truth, you are getting a glimpse into their dreams and their priorities in a way that you can ONLY view then and there. You will never get that glimpse again.
If you are taking everything people say to heart, then you really ought not to be on first dates. You ought not to be out of the house. Thats a very dangerous thing to do.
Now, some people do cross this very nebulous line, of course, but I think a lot of what happens is harmless if not downright healthy.
As for when do you turn away from family? I suggest never. Dont be a fool and dont let them hurt you. Never that. But as surely as you think that every time you hang out, you just hate that they do whatever they do... They are thinking something very similar about you. How many times should you forguve your brother? As many times as you possibly can. :).

Just my two cents.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65317.17
ETH 2646.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86